Town, Hunt, Smith winners at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
July 1, 2016  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—Weather and track prep threw a curve to the racers of Lakeside Speedway as they saw a fast, heavy race track all night long. It brought some new faces to victory lane Friday on Joslin Jewelry Night.

One week ago Brad Smith looked to be on his way to win number 1 in the USRA B-Mod main event. Unfortunately for Smith a mechanical problem and the turn 3 wall ended his night prematurely. This week he had something to prove.

Smith started Friday night’s feature in the fifth spot but it didn’t take him long to get to the front of the pack. At the front he would finally hang on and get his 1st win of the season.

Steven Clancy had another strong finish in the runner-up spot, third went to a hard running Nick Newton, Chad Clancy, the hard charger on the night, finished fourth after starting 20th in the feature and Luke Nieman rounded out the top 5 in fifth.

Brad Smith won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The point leader in the USRA Modified division, Kerry Davis, suffered a set back one week ago as mechanical problems and a crash put him and his crew to work this week. The big question would remain, how would he come back? Davis would be just fine.

Davis started from the pole position and he looked like the Davis of previous weeks. Unfortunately for Davis, Lance Town was looking just as good.

The two would battle at the front for a while until Town got the upper hand. At the front Town ran the race to perfection as he would score his first win of the season at Lakeside Speedway.

Davis would maintain his points lead and finish in second, third went to Dylan Hoover, who started 10th, Nic Bidinger finished in the top 5 for the second straight week in fourth and Jerad Stiens finished in the fifth spot.

Lance Town won the USRA Modified feature.

As the points leader in the USRA Stock Car division, Brett Heeter, took the night off, it would be a chance for a new face to shine in the USRA Stock Car class.

Trevor Hunt would take advantage of the night and scored another win on the season.

Justin Seifert would finish second to Hunt, third would be the hard charging Blake Peeler, fourth was Steve Herrick and Dave Holcomb scored his first top 5 finish of the season in fifth.

Trevor Hunt won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, July 1, 2016

1 5 99 Brad Smith Belton, Mo 100.00
2 3 12C Steve Clancy Odessa, Mo 95.00
3 6 3X3 Nick Newton Kansas City, Ks 91.00
4 20 21C Chad Clancy Polo, Mo 87.00
5 2 181 Luke Nieman Nortonville, Ks 84.00
6 4 49 Patrick Royalty Kansas City, Ks 81.00
7 11 7 Doug Keller Easton, Mo 78.00
8 19 17T Shadren Turner Saint Joseph, Mo 76.00
9 12 23B Curtis Berry Raymore, Mo 74.00
10 10 5 Terry Bivins Lebo, Ks 72.00
11 21 08 Mike Monnig Big Springs, Mo 70.00
12 15 17 Dean Galvan Bonner Springs, Ks 68.00
13 24 38 Matt Pugh Overland Park, Ks 66.00
14 14 7M Heath Murry Tonganoxie, Ks 64.00
15 13 92 Dennis Melvin Sr. Basehor, Ks 62.00
16 22 11P Jeremy Price Blue Springs, Mo 60.00
17 17 22M Steve Mcdowell Independence, Mo 58.00
18 23 03B Chris Brockway Warrensburg, Mo 56.00
19 1 57 Tim Powell Lansing, Ks 55.00
20 7 15 Ed Noll Excelsior Springs, Mo 54.00
21 9 9 Don Marrs Shawnee, Ks 53.00
22 8 3X Tony Manley, Mo 52.00
23 16 42 Gene Claxton Kansas City, Mo 51.00
24 18 222 Colten Stevens Basehor, Ks 50.00

1 2 33H Trevor Hunt Kearney, Mo 100.00
2 1 37 Justin Seifert Kansas City, Ks 95.00
3 8 292 Blake Peeler Trimble, Mo 91.00
4 5 5K Steve Herrick Topeka, Ks 87.00
5 7 46 David Holcomb Kansas City, Ks 84.00
6 3 0T Bobby Tavis Iii Leavenworth, Ks 81.00
7 6 93 Sam Scott Excelsior Springs, Mo 78.00
8 13 99D David Moline Kansas City, Mo 76.00
9 4 1 Christopher Smith Kansas City, Mo 74.00
10 11 31Z Nick Zinn Kansas City, Ks 72.00
11 9 17 Kevin Mcginnis Kansas City, Ks 70.00
12 12 34 Rick Sparks Kansas City, Ks 68.00
13 10 12 Scotty Moore Kansas City, Ks 66.00

1 3 21T Lance Town Wellsville, Ks 100.00
2 1 68 Kerry Davis Parkville, Mo 95.00
3 10 99 Dylan Hoover Vandalia, Mo 91.00
4 4 3B Nic Bidinger Perry, Ks 87.00
5 6 59 Jared Stiens Maryville, Mo 84.00
6 9 1K Tim Karrick Basehor, Ks 81.00
7 17 3 Larry “bubba” Harvey, Jr. Kansas City, Ks 78.00
8 11 29S Jeff Smith Kansas City, Mo 76.00
9 15 X25 Travis Ruff Belton, Mo 74.00
10 16 28 Jerry Liston Jr Kansas City, Ks 72.00
11 13 92P Jim Peeler Milan, Mo 70.00
12 7 70 Aaron Marrant Orrick, Mo 68.00
13 2 33 Chad Lyle Oak Grove, Mo 66.00
14 5 66T Tyler Schmidt Easton, Ks 64.00
15 8 34 Mark Schafman Edwardsville, Ks 62.00
16 12 13H Eric Hanna Maryville, Mo 60.00
17 14 5 Kevin Mcginnis Edwardsville, Ks 58.00

Latest News from the USRA

June 20, 2018
Have some dirt track racing with off-road Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
Following an exciting Midseason Championships program last week, the second half of the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series begins Saturday night at Lucas Oil more
June 20, 2018
USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cars, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods return Friday at Lakeside Speedway
The Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series returns this Friday, June 22, for racing on the river’s edge at Lakeside Speedway featuring USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cread more
June 20, 2018
I-35 Speedway Racin' for Rian this Saturday
This Saturday June 23, at the I-35 Speedway is an opportunity for the racing community to give back with the 7th Annual Racin' for Rian. We love our fun and our racinread more
June 20, 2018
Baker Trucking pads purse, picks up tab for Hamilton County Speedway racers this Saturday
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive returns to action this Saturday, June 23, with some free pit passes, additional take-home pay and other bonusesread more
June 18, 2018
Boone River Bayou postponed to June 26-27
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive have postponed this week’s Boone River Bayou Dirt Track Championships to next Tuesday and Weread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group