Glenz take top honors at NAPA Gopher 50
Print this page
July 9, 2016  |  by Todd Narveson

SPRING VALLEY, Minn.—It was a glorious day for racing at Deer Creek Speedway for the 37th Annual NAPA Auto Parts Gopher 50. This year's event was once again presented by NAPA Auto Parts, NAPA Auto Care Centers, Miner's Outdoor & Rec and the Blooming Prairie Lions.

There were all sorts of ore-race activities for race fans to take in. There was the NAPA Tailgate Tent where games were played and prizes handed out. Ron Capps NHRA Funny Car was on display for everyone to take a look at. A driver autograph session was held and fans got a great opportunity to meet their favorite driver. Also free Pepsi products and popcorn were available to munch on.

A stellar field of 37 NAPA Auto Care Centers USRA Modifieds signed in to battle it out for a possible $4000 payday for the winner. That field was whittled down to a 26-car field for the 30-lap feature. Dustin Sorensen and Jesse Glenz led the pack to the green flag.

Nate Wasmund bolted from row two on the start to nab the lead with a three wide procession behind him. Glenz took the lead two laps into it while Zack Vanderbeek raced from eighth to third. Vanderbeek then vaulted to second as Glenz opened up the lead.

The leaders would eventually work their way into lapped traffic. Vanderbeek tried in vain to catch Glenz but was never able to close the gap. Glenz sliced through the lapped cars with ease and was able to hold Vanderbeek at bay.

Eleventh starter Brandon Davis got the high side to work and charged to third late in the race. Defending track champion Josh Angst also worked his way through traffic after he started 13th and had a really good late race run.

Glenz raced on to win the race and take home the $4,000 check along with the unique wood carved gopher trophy and Husqvarna chain saw. It was car owner Dale White's second straight Gopher 50 title as Jimmy Mars drove White's car to victory in 2015. Vanderbeek would end up in second with Davis in third. Wasmund had a very good run in fourth and Angst's drive would bring him to fifth on the final lap.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, July 9, 2016


First Heat: 1. Mark Motl (Owatonna), 2. Zack VanderBeek (New Sharon, Iowa), 3. Brandon Davis (Medford), 4. Dwaine Hanson (Lakefield), 5. Todd Stinehart (Waseca), 6. Joel Alberts (Mantorville), 7. David Schuster (Waterville), 8. Tammy Soma Clark (Rochester).

Second Heat: 1. Craig Thatcher (Knapp, Wis.), 2. Jacob Bleess (Chatfield), 3. Brent Larson (Lake Elmo), 4. Brad Waits (Rochester), 5. Jay Ihrke (Dover), 6. Cory Crapser (Chippewa Falls, Wis.), 7. Jason Cummins (New Richland), 8. Joe Ludemann (Grand Meadow).

Third Heat: 1. Nate Wasmund (Rochester), 2. Jesse Glenz (Cadott, Wis.), 3. Josh Angst (Winona), 4. Dan Ebert (Lake Shore), 5. Erik Kanz (Winona), 6. Joe Horgdal (Kasson), 7. Keith Foss (Winona).

Fourth Heat: 1. Dustin Sorensen (Rochester), 2. Rodney Sanders (Happy, Texas), 3. Craig Shaw (Dexter), 4. Chris Oertel (Marshfield, Wis.), 5. Robby Bunkelman (Abbotsford, Wis.), 6. Doug Hillson (Blooming Prairie), 7. Levi Nielsen (Evansdale, Iowa).

Fifth Heat: 1. Jake Timm (Winona), 2. Kevin Stoa (Albert Lea), 3. Bob Timm (Winona), 4. Steve Wetzstein (West Concord), 5. John Doelle (Arcadia, Wis.), 6. Darwyn Karau (Kasson), 7. Les Duellman (Winona).

"B" Main #1: 1. Kanz, 2. Duellman, 3. Karau.

"B" Main # 2: 1. Crapser, 2. Ihrke, 3. Bunkelman.

"A" Main: 1. Glenz, 2. VanderBeek, 3. Davis, 4. Wasmund, 5. Angst, 6. Bleess, 7. Sanders, 8. Thatcher, 9. Waits, 10. J. Timm, 11. Wetzstein, 12. Sorensen, 13. Kanz, 14. Larson, 15. Bunkelman, 16. Stoa, 17. Ebert, 18. Karau, 19. Oertel, 20. Crapser, 21. B. Timm, 22. Duellman, 23. Ihrke, 24. Shaw, 25. Motl, 26. Hanson.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group