Gregoire, De Ruyter, Arends collect checkers at Rapid Speedway
Print this page
July 15, 2016  |  by Levi Vander Weide

ROCK RAPIDS, Iowa—The temperature was cool, but the racing was hot on Friday evening at Rapid Speedway with 93 drivers competing.

The USRA Hobby Stock feature was full of heavy hitters, many looking to join Chad Lonneman as a multi-feature winner this season. Nick Brady took the lead early, but spun, bringing out a caution, after being passed by Blake Arends. Late cautions brought Dylan Fitzpatrick and Dustin Gulbrandson to Arends bumper, all looking for their second win of the season. Arends would hold off a charge by Gulbrandson on the final lap to take the victory.

Blake Arends won the USRA Hobby Stock feature.

The Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature was exciting from the start, when early leader, Nate Barger, spun in front of the field, handing the lead to Thor Anderson. Thor Anderson went on to open up a huge lead, but then came a late caution. Anderson was then challenged by 11th place starter, Cullen De Ruyter. The two went side-by-side the final two laps, and Anderson beat De Ruyter by .007 at the checkered flag. The glory was short lived for Anderson because he was later disqualified, giving the 2nd victory of the year to Cullen De Ruyter.

Cullen De Ruyter won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The night was capped off by the always exciting Holley USRA Stock Cars. Elijah Zevenbergen was looking for his 4th straight win at Rapid Speedway, but it was not his night, picking up a 6th place finish. Scott Overgaard went from eight starting position to first place in a little over one lap. Overgaard kept the lead for much of the race, but defending champion Rich Gregoire was looking for his first trophy of the season. Gregoire finally got by Overgaard with a handful of laps remaining to pick up that first win of the year.

Rich Gregoire won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

You won’t want to miss the inaugural Randy Droescher Memorial this Tuesday, July 19, during the Lyon County Fair. Then Friday, July 22, is free grandstand admission for everyone.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Rapid Speedway, Rock Rapids, Iowa
Friday, July 15, 2016


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 11T-Todd Uhl[4]; 2. 13X-Alex Wiertzma[5]; 3. 3-Brian Campbell[2]; 4. 79-Tim Waltner[6]; 5. 17-Matt Goth[3]; 6. 15H-Brent Van Hill[7]; 7. 46-Colton Arends[1].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 117L-Chad Lonneman[6]; 2. 15-Thomas Kracht[3]; 3. 44-Chad Kuhnert[7]; 4. 86-Tracy Halouska[2]; 5. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[4]; 6. (DNF) 84L-Al Lange[5]; 7. (DNF) 3J-James Adams[1].

Heat #3 (6 laps): 1. 22-Blake Arends[4]; 2. 6-Dustin Gulbrandson[5]; 3. 61N-Nick Brady[1]; 4. 81VT-Dylan Vandentop[2]; 5. 36-Jackson Kracht[7]; 6. 31-Silas Top[6]; 7. 4D-Cory Kelderman[3].

B Feature (8 laps): 1. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[2]; 2. 46-Colton Arends[7]; 3. 84L-Al Lange[8]; 4. 17-Matt Goth[1]; 5. (DNF) 3J-James Adams[9]; 6. (DNF) 31-Silas Top[5]; 7. (DNF) 15H-Brent Van Hill[4]; 8. (DNF) 36-Jackson Kracht[3]; 9. (DNF) 4D-Cory Kelderman[6].

A Feature (15 laps): 1. 22-Blake Arends[6]; 2. 6-Dustin Gulbrandson[8]; 3. 38S-Dylan Fitzpatrick[13]; 4. 117L-Chad Lonneman[10]; 5. 86-Tracy Halouska[12]; 6. 15-Thomas Kracht[4]; 7. 13X-Alex Wiertzma[7]; 8. 81VT-Dylan Vandentop[3]; 9. 46-Colton Arends[14]; 10. 17-Matt Goth[16]; 11. 84L-Al Lange[15]; 12. 79-Tim Waltner[9]; 13. 3-Brian Campbell[2]; 14. 11T-Todd Uhl[5]; 15. (DNF) 44-Chad Kuhnert[11]; 16. (DNF) 61N-Nick Brady[1].


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 15A-Curt Ahlers[4]; 2. 7-Cullen De Ruyter[6]; 3. 98-Nate Barger[2]; 4. 70-Nick Vanbelle[3]; 5. 00-Dave Kennedy[5]; 6. 15M-Cole McLaughlin[1]; 7. 83-Deven Vanveldhuizen[8]; 8. 12X-Gary Beuckens[7].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 41-Thor Anderson[2]; 2. 9-Mitch Van Engen[6]; 3. 06W-Ryan Walker[5]; 4. 27-Kevin Joachim[7]; 5. 81-Travis Vandentop[4]; 6. 66R-Randy Vanveldhuizen[8]; 7. 35-Rodney Cook[1]; 8. 22-Justin Voeltz[3].

Heat #3 (6 laps): 1. 11L-Lyndon Johnson[5]; 2. 52K-Trevor Kracht[3]; 3. 14A-Andrew Ahlers[4]; 4. 22T-Tyler Tesch[6]; 5. 21T-Trevor Tesch[2]; 6. 8M-Kaleb Modder[1]; 7. 4P-Zac Pruner[7].

Heat #4 (6 laps): 1. 5-Colter Deutsch[2]; 2. 14N-Nick Barger[5]; 3. 20-Derek Vanveldhuzien[4]; 4. 40-Tim Dann[6]; 5. 14-Austin Powell[1]; 6. 43K-Josh Kelderman[3]; 7. XII-Chris Moore[7].

B Feature (8 laps): 1. 00-Dave Kennedy[1]; 2. 21T-Trevor Tesch[3]; 3. 43K-Josh Kelderman[8]; 4. 4P-Zac Pruner[11]; 5. 15M-Cole McLaughlin[5]; 6. 81-Travis Vandentop[2]; 7. XII-Chris Moore[14]; 8. 22-Justin Voeltz[13]; 9. (DNF) 12X-Gary Beuckens[12]; 10. (DNF) 66R-Randy Vanveldhuizen[6]; 11. (DNF) 14-Austin Powell[4]; 12. (DNF) 8M-Kaleb Modder[7]; 13. (DNF) 83-Deven Vanveldhuizen[9]; 14. (DNF) 35-Rodney Cook[10].

A Feature (15 laps): 1. 7-Cullen De Ruyter[11]; 2. 5-Colter Deutsch[3]; 3. 11L-Lyndon Johnson[9]; 4. 22T-Tyler Tesch[15]; 5. 06W-Ryan Walker[8]; 6. 9-Mitch Van Engen[12]; 7. 98-Nate Barger[1]; 8. 14A-Andrew Ahlers[6]; 9. 43K-Josh Kelderman[19]; 10. 00-Dave Kennedy[17]; 11. 70-Nick Vanbelle[13]; 12. 21T-Trevor Tesch[18]; 13. (DNF) 52K-Trevor Kracht[4]; 14. (DNF) 15A-Curt Ahlers[5]; 15. (DNF) 4P-Zac Pruner[20]; 16. (DNF) 27-Kevin Joachim[14]; 17. (DNF) 40-Tim Dann[16]; 18. (DNF) 14N-Nick Barger[10]; 19. (DNF) 20-Derek Vanveldhuzien[7]; (DQ) 41-Thor Anderson[2].


Heat #1 (6 laps): 1. 19-Marlin Kracht[2]; 2. 40-Scott Overgaard[6]; 3. 22E-Eric Gaul[3]; 4. 32-Justin Regnerus[5]; 5. 34K-Colby Klaassen[4]; 6. 36-Glenn Wynia[7]; 7. 20K-Spencer Kalass[1].

Heat #2 (6 laps): 1. 32X-Rich Gregoire[3]; 2. 66Z-Elijah Zevenbergen[6]; 3. 42-Chad Overgaard[7]; 4. 84-Matt Lange[2]; 5. 16J-Jon DeBoer[4]; 6. (DNF) 84L-Al Lange[1]; 7. (DNF) 04-Roger Verdoorn[5].

Feature (18 laps): 1. 32X-Rich Gregoire[4]; 2. 40-Scott Overgaard[8]; 3. 22E-Eric Gaul[3]; 4. 42-Chad Overgaard[10]; 5. 32-Justin Regnerus[7]; 6. 66Z-Elijah Zevenbergen[9]; 7. 34K-Colby Klaassen[5]; 8. 16J-Jon DeBoer[6]; 9. 36-Glenn Wynia[11]; 10. 19-Marlin Kracht[1]; 11. 84-Matt Lange[2]; 12. 20K-Spencer Kalass[12]; 13. (DNF) 96-Troy Woelber[15]; (DNS) 84L-Al Lange; (DNS) 04-Roger Verdoorn.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group