Cummins cruises, Kruse cashes in at Chateau Raceway
Print this page
July 22, 2016  |  by Matthew Grage

Jason Cummins won the USRA Modified feature.

The hottest night of the summer greeted drivers and fans Friday at the Chateau Raceway. The weather did cut down on the car count for the night but the action on the track was full throttle.

In the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod class it was another first time visitor to Victory Lane as Dustin Kruse of Brandon, S.D., making just his third visit to the track this season scored the feature win.

Kruse started inside row two and as the front row of Kylie Kath of Owatonna and Jesse Baer of Minnesota Lake were battling for control on the opening lap, Kruse slipped by both of them and proceeded to start opening up a nice lead.

However a couple late restarts made things interesting. Each time Kath put on the heat, but Kruse held him off and drove into victory lane.

Kath came across the line second but was penalized two spots for jumping the final restart with two to go when he pulled up on the outside of Kruse as they came back in for the green.

Kadden Kath of Owatonna was credited with second and Baer with third.

Kylie Kath did pick up a win in his heat while the other heat win went to Taylor Ausrud of Hayfield.

Dustin Kruse won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

USRA Modifieds put on a thrilling caution-free main event with Jason Cummins of New Richland scoring his second feature win of the year.

Despite Jason lapping nearly half the field and winning by nearly half a lap, the action behind him was exciting.

Greg Pfeifer Jr. of Austin moved from row four to second in just two laps while Brandon Davis of Medford, coming out of row three, made it up to fourth on lap two, but the two would end up nose to tail and side by side for much of the feature.

Davis hunted a line as he challenged for the spot but Pfeifer had the answer each lap and held him off to the end for the runner-up spot.

One of the wildest moments came late in the race as Cummins was working lapped traffic and came up on a cluster of three cars racing for eighth, ninth and tenth.

Cummins pulled to the outside of one car then split the other two right down the middle as they came out of turn four and down the front straight-away.

From there he only dealt with one more car as he lapped his way up to sixth place.

Heat winners on the night were Joe Horgdal of Kasson and Jacob Dahle of Morristown.

Racing action continues next Friday night with the rescheduled 19th Annual Mike Guttormson Memorial.   The USMTS will be on hand with some of the top Modified drivers in the world competing for the title and the big $3,000 check waiting at the end of the night.

Action is scheduled to get underway at 7 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 22, 2016


Feature: 1. Dustin Kruse, Brandon, S.D.; 2.  Kadden Kath, Owatonna; 3.  Jesse Baer, Minnesota City; 4.  Kylie Kath, Owatonna; 5.  Kenny Wytaske, Lansing; 6.  Cole Lonergan, Dexter; 7.  Morgan Schrage, Cresco, Iowa; 8.  Nick Zago, Austin; 9.  Taylor Ausrud, Hayfield; 10.  Raey Hastings IV, Austin.

Heat #1: 1. Ausrud; 2.  Kadden Kath; 3.  Wytaske; 4.  Baer; 5.  Schrage.

Heat #2: 1. Kylie Kath; 2.  Kruse; 3.  Lonergan; 4.  Hastings; 5.  Zago.


Feature: 1. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 2.  Greg Pfeifer Jr., Austin; 3.  Bandon Davis, Medford; 4.  Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 5.  Joe Horgdahl, Kasson; 6.  Mark Motl, Owatonna; 7.  David Schuster, Waterville; 8.  Mick Glenn, Minnesota City; 9.  Jacob Stark, Austin; 10.  Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 11.  Nick Panitzke, Lonsdale; 12.  Jim King, Hastings.

Heat #1: 1. Horgdahl; 2.  Pfeifer; 3.  Davis; 4.  Motl; 5.  Stark; 6.  Panitzke.

Heat #2: 1. Dahle; 2.  Cummins; 3.  Glenn; 4.  Schuster; 5.  Jensen; 6.  King.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group