Schafman rolls to fourth win at Lakeside Speedway
Print this page
July 29, 2016  |  by Larry Lowery Jr.

KANSAS CITY, Kan.—Everyone loves the underdog story. But when does the underdog become the favorite?

Mark Schafman raced his way to his first win earlier this season at Lakeside Speedway. At the time it was billed as David beating Goliath. Then came wins number two and three. It didn’t seem improbable for Schafman to run up front each and every week.

Friday night Schafman was back at it again as he ran out to the early lead in the main event for the USRA Modifieds.

At the front of the pack Schafman put a huge lead up on the competition. That was until a series of yellow flags came out. This would erase the advantage that Schafman built up.

On the restart Schafman would go back to the front and again started to build a lead.

Point leader, Kerry Davis, began to chip away at Schafman’s lead and by lap 17 he was knocking on Schafman’s rear bumper.

The leader was working his way through lapped traffic and Davis was able to pull alongside the leader, setting up what would be a great finish! Or would it?

As the came to the white flag lap, Schafman was able to put a lapped car in between him and Davis. This was all the cushion that Schafman needed to race his way to win #4 on the season. It’s safe to say that the underdog role can be removed from Schafman after the win.

Davis would finish second after starting 6th in the feature, third would go to Lance Town, Tim Karrick, coming off a bad wreck last week, finished fourth and Aaron Marrant, last week’s feature winner finished in the fifth spot.

Mark Schafman won the USRA Modified feature.

A whopping 28 cars started the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod A Main. Not only was the number of cars starting a big story line, the other story line that was just as important was the fact that the race went green to checkered with no yellow flags.

It didn’t seem fair as the points leader and nine-time feature winner, Chad Clancy, would start on the front row of the feature.

As the green flag waved Clancy would work an early battle with Tim Powell on the opening lap and checked out from the rest of the competition from there on.

Clancy’s biggest worry on the night was getting past all the cars that he would put a lap down. In the end he would take the checkered flag and collect win number 10 on the season.

Trevor Hunt worked his way up through the field to finish second, finishing third was Tim Powell, fourth went to Shad Turner and Steven Clancy would finish in the fifth spot.

Chad Clancy won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

For a majority of the Holley USRA Stock Car A-Main it was a three-car battle up front.

Justin Seifert took command of the race from the start but the hottest driver at Lakeside Speedway, Brett Heeter, and Lucas Conley were hot on his tail.

For nine laps Seifert would maintain the lead. Working lap 9 Heeter would get a strong run out of turn two and it would push him to the lead.

Getting to the front of the field was all the Heeter needed. After logging eight wins on the season, Heeter was now staring down the barrel of win number nine.

A late-race yellow would bunch up the field. When the green waved again an angry mob, behind the leader, started to make their moves and it pushed a big shakeup in the positions second on back.

In the end it was all Heeter for win number nine on the season. He would add to his points lead looking for another championship.

Brett Heeter won the Holley USRA Stock feature.

Kevin Anderson, Jason Ryun and Trevor Hunt were able to work their way forward during the last yellow and the would finish second, third and fourth on the night.

Seifert, the early leader, would hang on to finish fifth on the night.

Next Friday night, Aug. 5, it’s Kids Night presented by McCarthy Auto Group.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, July 29, 2016


1. (2) 21C Chad Clancy, Polo, Mo.
2. (6) 44H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
3. (1) 57 Tim Powell, Lansing
4. (3) 17T Shadren Turner, St. Joseph, Mo.
5. (8) 12C Steve Clancy, Odessa, Mo.
6. (4) 17J Jake Richards, Edwardsville
7. (5) 20T Mike Tanner, Kansas City, Mo.
8. (9) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville
9. (7) 42 Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
10. (12) 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor
11. (11) 20S Ben Stockton, Kansas City, Mo.
12. (10) 17 Dean Galvan, Bonner Springs
13. (13) 5 Terry Bivins, Lebo
14. (14) 49 Patrick Royalty, Kansas City
15. (23) 38 Matt Pugh, Overland Park
16. (19) 20J Jayden Bears, Smithville, Mo.
17. (17) 81 Jacob Blair, Parkville, Mo.
18. (15) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee
19. (22) 64K Monty Cook, St. Joseph, Mo.
20. (25) 22M Steve McDowell, Independence, Mo.
21. (21) 75 Robert Isabell III, Bonner Springs
22. (20) 27 David Moline, Kansas City, Mo.
23. (26) 27M Matt Oxford, Washburn, Mo.
24. (18) 16 Blake Pierce, Kansas Cirty, Mo.
25. (24) 2 Dustin Gilbert, Lawrence
26. (16) 08 Mike Monnig, Big Springs, Mo.
27. (28) 3K Scott Henney, Kansas City
28. (27) 92 Dennis Melvin Sr., Basehor


1. (4) 05 Brett Heeter, Kansas City
2. (5) 417 Kevin Anderson, Kansas City, Mo.
3. (3) 27 Jason Ryun, Kansas City, Mo.
4. (6) 33H Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
5. (2) 37 Justin Seifert, Kansas City
6. (7) 5K Steve Herrick, Topeka
7. (12) 12 Scotty Moore, Kansas City
8. (10) 46 David Holcomb, Kansas City
9. (11) 04 Chad Walker, Kansas City
10. (9) 26M Gary Myers
11. (1) 17C Lucas Conley, Spring Hill
12. (8) 1 Christopher Smith, Kansas City, Mo.
DNS - 17 Kevin Mcginnis, Kansas City


1. (2) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville
2. (6) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
3. (3) 21T Lance Town, Wellsville
4. (1) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor
5. (4) 70 Aaron Marrant, Orrick, Mo.
6. (5) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta
7. (8) 17 Lucas Conley, Spring Hill
8. (7) 9D8 Paden Phillips, Chanute
9. (9) 39 Luke Driskell, Stilwell
10. (13) 3 Bubba Harvey Jr., Kansas City
11. (12) 11JR Randal Schiffelbein Jr., Tecumseh
12. (14) 99 Dylan Hoover, Vandalia, Mo.
13. (10) 51 Joe Walker, Harrisonville, Mo.
14. (15) 3J Lewis Jackson, Wellsville
15. (18) 5 Kevin McGinnis, Edwardsville
16. (16) 63 Tim Eaton, St. Joseph, Mo.
17. (20) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City
18. (21) 29S Jeff Smith, Kansas City, Mo.
19. (17) 66M Max Grogan, Basehor
20. (11) 13H Eric Hanna, Maryville, Mo.
21. (19) 14C Bill Carter, Kansas City
DNS - 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group