Jones wins Hella Shrine Classic at RPM Speedway
Print this page
July 29, 2016  |  by Don Cook

CRANDALL, Texas—RPM Speedway held their annual Hella Shrine Classic Friday night. A great crowd and a good car count was on hand for a great cause.

There were five classes of cars with the featured class being the impressive Texas Outlaw Modified Series. A full field of 32 USRA Modifieds were in the house.

In the 25-lap, $1,500-to-win, twenty-four-car "A" feature, Sean Jones worked his way past Sam Cox for the lead and the feature win.

Bobby Malcus ended up second, current points leader Triston Dycus had a strong run for third, Billy Melton was fourth and Max Eddie Thomas was fifth.

Wheeler, Bobby Ruffin, Troy Taylor, Cox and Philip Houston rounded out the top ten.

The next race for the Texas Outlaw Modified Series (TOMS) is at the Superbowl Speedway in Greenville, Texas, on Saturday night, July 30.

For more information, go to

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
USRA Weekly Racing Series - Texas Outlaw Modified Series
RPM Speedway, Crandall, Texas
Friday, July 29, 2016


Heat #1: 1. Billy Jack Brutchin, Gladewater; 2. Michael Needham, Grand Prairie; 3. Bobby Ruffin, Crandall; 4. Troy Taylor, Midlothian; 5. Charlie Smith, Forney; 6. Jim Knight, Grand Prarie; 7. Blaine Shives, Denison; 8. Kirk Acord, Mansfield; 9. Jeff Needham, Ennis.

Heat #2: 1. Chad Ewell, Forney; 2. Sean Jones, Mansfield; 3. Johnny Philpot, Jr., Rockwall; 4. Shawn Gammage, Greenville; 5. Josh Landers, Princeton; 6. Jason Hammond, Graham; 7. John DeBorde, Kaufman.

Heat #3: 1. Billy Melton, Longview; 2. Logan Robertson, Shamrock; 3. Sam Cox;; 4. G.W. Egbert, Belton; 5. Clyde Dunn, Jr., Sunnyvale; 6. Triston Dycus, Waxahachie; 7. Mike Dillard;; 8. Lance Plant, Kaufman.

Heat #4: 1. Micheal Walker, Royse City; 2. Max Eddie Thomas, Quinlan; 3. Wesley Veal, Princeton; 4. Billy Brierton, Greenville; 5. Colby Smith, Greenville; 6. Bobby Malchus, Red Oak; 7. Skip O'Neal, Midolothian; 8. Philip Houston.

B-Main #1: 1. Clyde Dunn, Jr., Sunnyvale; 2. Troy Taylor, Midlothian; 3. Triston Dycus, Waxahachie; 4. Philip Houston;; 5. Blaine Shives, Denison; 6. Jim Knight, Grand Prarie; 7. Charlie Smith, Forney; 8. Mike Dillard;; 9. Kirk Acord, Mansfield; 10. G.W. Egbert, Belton; 11. Lance Plant, Kaufman.

B-Main #2: 1. Bobby Malchus, Red Oak; 2. Billy Brierton, Greenville; 3. Shawn Gammage, Greenville; 4. Chad Wheeler;; 5. Skip O'Neal, Midolothian; 6. Jeff Needham, Ennis; 7. Jason Hammond, Graham; 8. Colby Smith, Greenville; 9. John DeBorde, Kaufman; 10. Josh Landers, Princeton.

A-Main: 1. Sean Jones, Mansfield; 2. Bobby Malchus, Red Oak; 3. Triston Dycus, Waxahachie; 4. Billy Melton, Palestine; 5. Max Eddie Thomas, Quinlan; 6. Chad Wheeler;; 7. Bobby Ruffin, Crandall; 8. Troy Taylor, Midlothian; 9. Sam Cox;; 10. Philip Houston;; 11. Randy arrison, Royse City; 12. Clyde Dunn, Jr., Sunnyvale; 13. Shawn Gammage, Greenville; 14. Chad Ewell, Forney; 15. Wesley Veal, Princeton; 16. Billy Brierton, Greenville; 17. Logan Robertson, Shamrock; 18. G.W. Egbert, Belton; 19. Kirk Acord, Mansfield; 21. Michael Needham, Grand Prairie; 22. Johnny Philpot, Jr., Rockwall; 23. Billy Jack Brutchin, Gladewater.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale, Scott takes title at Wild West Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group