Arpin tops action at Deer Creek
Print this page
May 6, 2006  |  by Bill Nelson

Steve Arpin won the USRA Modified main event on Saturday, May 6, at Deer Creek Speedway.

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. -- Sun greated the fans as they entered Deer Creek Speedway on Ronald F. Carlsen Construction Night. With 106 cars checking into the pit area, the fans were treated to out-of-car driver introductions as the classes pulled onto the track for their feature action.

A slightly smaller than usual field of USRA Modifieds were on hand but the same great racing action took place on the speedway.

Steve Wetzstein looked to be the car to beat early on as he rocketed into the lead. Nate Wasmund, Brad Waits and Bobby Sorensen had a good race for second going on.

Sorensen took the spot leaving Waits and Wasmund to determine who was going to claim the third spot.

Sorensen spun with twenty two to go setting up a restart.

Wetzstein continued to lead with Waits and now Steve Arpin running close behind him for second.

Waits moved along side of the leader with twenty to go but couldn’t get the drive off the bottom of the corner to complete the pass.

Thirteen to go and Arpin ran down Waits again as the two ran nose to tail and side by side for the second spot.

Eight circuits remained before Arpin moved into second as Wetzstein pulled out to a good lead.

Mike Sorensen also moved past Waits and Wasmund for the third position.

With only two laps left to make his move Arpin looked low under Wetzstein coming out of two and the drove around the top side in three and four to take the lead and the eventual win.

Next week Evans Printing night will welcome the drivers and fans to Deer Creek Speedway as all five classes return to do battle on the high banked speedway. Start time will be 5:00 for the month of May.


USRA Modifieds

A-Main: Steve Arpin, Steve Wetzstein, Mike Sorensen, Brad Waits, Nate Wasmund, Robert Timm, Hank Rollinger Jr., Brian Shaw, Bobby Sorensen, Tom Paulson.

Heat 1 – Waits, Joe Wernecke, M. Sorensen, Wetzstein, B. Sorensen.

Heat 2 – Paulson, Arpin, Wasmund, Hank Rollinger Jr., Brian Shaw.

Latest News from the USRA

January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
January 13, 2018
Stormy wins as Scott brothers finish 1-2 at Wild West Shootout
Stormy Scott posted his first win of the 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday by topping the USRA Modified fieread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group