Gallardo, Flores, Scott score Short Track Shootout wins
Print this page
March 19, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

Jake Gallardo won the USRA Modified feature.

An exciting afternoon of racing concluded Sunday at the Southern New Mexico Speedway with the finale of the inaugural Short Track Shootout presented by Short Track Shootout presented by S&S Fishing & Rental, G3 Fitness, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Barnett Harley-Davidson and Rancho Milagro.

In the Holley USRA Stock Cars, Donavon Flores started on the pole with Cortez, Colo., racer Tony Hill to his outside. Hill, who won night one, and Flores, who won night two, battled for the lead with the company of Victor Colobrio and Jaime Torres. An exciting top four was four wide for the lead at times. Hill would take the lead from Flores on lap seven until Jed Smith spun to draw a caution. On the restart Donovan Flores would take the lead again and run away. Jaime Torres held off Travis Sutherlin while Flores ran away and won the feature and $1,000 top prize.

Track prep took place right before the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event, which called for a good main event. Johnny Scott and Sherman Barnett shared the front row, but one thing Scott didn't share was the lead. He took off to lead the entire distance of the $1,000-to-win main event.

Johnny Scott won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

A pair of Missouri racers--Scott Drake and Terry Phillips--shared the front row in the 30-lap, $5,000-to-win USRA Modified main event and made it interesting at the start as Phillips led lap one but Drake answered the phone call on lap two. A good battle for the lead between them took place with Lucas Schott joining the party. Schott led six laps until lap traffic allowed Jake Gallardo to get around him for the lead. From there, Gallardo ran away from the field and beat Johnny Scott to the finish line to close out the inaugural Short Track Shootout.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Sunday, March 19, 2017


1. G3 Jake Gallardo
2. 1ST Johnny Scott
3. 2S Stormy Scott
4. 20 Rodney Sanders
5. G17 Fito Gallardo
6. 4W Tyler Wolf
7. 44W R.C. Whitwell
8. 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr.
9. 12D Scott Drake
10. 82 Lucas Schott
11. 3J Josh Cain
12. 86 Jared Perez
13. 28 Tom Georges
14. 99 Terry Tipton
15. 131 Royal Jones
16. X57 Richie Davies
17. 49 Duane Murphy
18. 18 Henry Valdez
19. 07 Donavon Flores
20. 202 Robbie Chiles
21. 9 Jimmy Ray
22. 111 Bumper Jones
23. UNO Brian Kleine
24. 96 Dusty Riggs
25. 75 Terry Phillips
26. M16 Rick Gallardo


1. 07 Donavon Flores
2. 44JT Jaime Torres
3. 59 Travis Sutherlin
4. 007 Tony Hill
5. 13 Victor Colorbio
6. 26 Allen Bradley
7. 46 Zach McCoy
8. 74 Jason Josselyn
9. 88 Nathan Smith
10. 97 Wyatt Loveland
11. 00 Shawn McCarty
12. 11 Cliff Evrage
13. 71 Jed Smith


1. X15 Johnny Scott
2. 9 Jimmy Ray
3. K3 Josh Cain
4. 82 Sherman Barnett
5. 47G Casey Gossett
6. 777 Mike Rosales
7. AK47 Rex Higgins
8. 2 Jesse Haynie
9. 21 Billy Roy Harris
10. 3H Noah Hollingshead
11. 41 Ralph Dutcher
12. 17 Rob Mosely
13. 38 Hector Prigione
14. 18JR Ricardo Olague Jr.
15. 24 Derek Stuhler
16. 121 Tim Tharp
17. 7 Don Parra
18. 0H Shane Helton
19. 33 Justin Allen
20. 47 Mingo Jauregui

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group