Cummins Moudry top Deer Creek Speedway opener
Print this page
April 22, 2017  |  by Todd Narveson

Jason Cummins won the USRA Modified feature.

The 2017 race season kicked off in grand style at Deer Creek Speedway. It was a beautiful day and 115 cars and a great crowd turned out for a fine night of racing. Before the action got underway, the kids had an Easter egg hunt with over 1,200 eggs up for grabs. The Easter bunny made a special appearance at the event and the children had a good time.

A huge field of 36-Dirt Doctor Trucking USRA B-Mods was pared down to a 26-car field to start their 18-lap main. Ben Moudry took the early lead trailed by Taylor Ausrud and Erik Kanz. Ausrud drifted high on a restart and Dustin Kruse had a slick move on the low side to steal the lead on lap three. Parker Hale battled Kanz for third and Dan Hovden entered the top five.

Kruse and Moudry had a super race up front as Kruse worked the low side and Moudry lit up the top side. They were close on lap 13 and then Moudry got the lead back on lap 15 before a late race yellow set up an exciting finish.

Moudry got a little too high in turn two and grazed the wall. That gave Kruse a shot and he stole the lead down the backstretch. Moudry regained his composure and reeled Kruse back in as the end of the race drew near. Moudry powered past on the top side and held on to the win by less than a car length over Kruse. Hale would finish third with Hovden in fourth and Kanz fifth.

Ben Moudry won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

The 25-lap NAPA Auto Care Centers USRA Modifieds closed out the night with a 25-lap main event. Jason Cummins drew the pole and that was it as he checked out. Cummins won in a run away and lapped up to the seventh place car at the checkered flag.

Jake Timm ran second until late in the race when tenth starter Lucas Schott took over on lap 20. By the time Schott got to second, Cummins was long gone. Timm drove home in third with Steve Wetzstein and Josh Angst in the top five.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minn.
Saturday, April 22, 2017


Feature: Jason Cummins, Lucas Schott, Jake Timm, Steve Wetzstein, Josh Angst, Jacob Bleess, Alan Wagner, Joe Ludemann, Darwyn Karau, Mark Motl, Joel Alberts, Ryan Ruter, Charlie Steinburg, Dwaine Hanson, Logan Brown, Tammy Soma-Clark, Jake Stark, Dustin Brown, Dustin Sorensen, Greg Jensen.

Heat #1: Timm, Cummins, Schott, Wagner, Alberts, D. Brown, Stark.

Heat #2: Angst, Sorensen, Jensen, Karau, Hanson, L. Brown, Ruter.

Heat #3: Bleess, Wetzstein, Steinberg, Motl, Ludemann, Soma-Clark.


Feature: Ben Moudry, Dustin Kruse, Parker Hale, Dan Hovden, Erik Kanz, Taylor Ausrud, Alex Williamson, Kyle Anderson, Brandon Hare, Jim Chisholm, Jason Schlangen, Jackson Hale, Jayden Larson, Kenny Boge Jr., Nick Wagner, Matt Brooks, Zach Brom, Bill Stettner, Scott Demmer, Channing Warner, A.J. Zvorak, Jett Sorensen, Andrew Bleess, Kadden Kath, Tucker Williams, Trevor Fecht.

B-Main #1: Brooks, Brom, J. Hale, Sorensen, Williams, Christian Warner, Tanner Johnston, Adam Mietzner, J.T. Wasmund, A.J. Johnston.

B-Main #2: Channing Warner, Schlangen, Zvorak, Demmer, Larson, Mike Chisholm, Russ Quinnell, Kevin Seidler, Shane Yohe, Denny Schott.

Heat #1: Bleess, Fecht, Kath, Stettner, Wasmund, Brom, A. Johnston, Sorensen, J. Hale.

Heat #2: P. Hale, J. Chisholm, Ausrud, Boge, Zvorak, Channing Warnwe, Quinnell, Yohe, Schott.

Heat #3: Wagner, Hovden, Kruse, Williamson, Brooks, T.Johnston, Christian Warner, Williams, Seidler.

Heat #4: Moudry, Kanz, Hare, Anderson, Larson, Demmer, M. Chisholmk, Mietzner.

Latest News from the USRA

September 22, 2017
Hovden finds Deer Creek victory lane Friday at Featherlite Fall Jamboree
Dan Hovden fended off several challengers Friday night and found his way to victory lane during the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event on night two at the 19th Annual Featherread more
September 21, 2017
Chisholm checkers Out-Pace USRA B-Mods in Featherlite Fall Jamboree kickoff
Jim Chisholm scored his first Iron Man Challenge victory in dominating fashion, leading all 20 laps to capture the4 opening night main event for the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods read more
September 21, 2017
Featherlite Fall Jamboree winners reel in big bonuses from Red Tail Tackle
The 19th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree takes place Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Sept. 21-23, at the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., and thanks to Red Taread more
September 21, 2017
Younger Sorensen following in father's shoes
Dustin Sorensen is making a name for himself quickly. But the Rochester teenager—and budding dirt-track stock car star—hasn't forgotten the name that pread more
September 19, 2017
Summit USRA Nationals approaching fast
The countdown to the 4th Annual Summit USRA Nationals is just four weeks away as the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo., continues preparations for this year's more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2017 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group