Central Missouri Speedway wins to Blackburn, Richards
Print this page
May 6, 2017  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Kevin Blackburn won the USRA Modified feature.

Sunshine and warmer weather finally reached into the weekend for race fans and drivers on Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford Night at the Central Missouri Speedway. Week three of the 2017 race season produced some thrilling action with 115 cars on hand.

Kevin Blackburn of Fulton claimed the USRA Modified feature for his first victory the season. In the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature, Jake Richards from Kansas City seized his second win of the year against another large field of drivers.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mod drivers had another chance to hone their driving skills against a large field with 31 drivers on hand. During the four qualifying heat races, Richards, Dean Wille, Doug Wetzel and Bob Nakoneczny grabbed the wins. For Nakoneczny, it was his first-ever win. In the "B" Main, Monty Mitchell, Johnathon Knotts, Colten Stevens, Eddie Bray Jr., Jack Cunningham and Dean Bachner transferred to the "A" Main.

The feature began with Wille in command after a lap-three incident with Ryan Edde and Bray on the front stretch resulted in a red-flag as Edde’s car rolled on its hood with Bray’s car on top. Thankfully, both drivers were okay in the incident but their cars were heavily damaged. When racing resumed, Richards made a late-race pass on the low side to grab the lead. In the end, Richards went on to record his second win of the season ahead of Wille, Steve Clancy, Mike Striegel and Rex Harris.

Jake Richards won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

USRA Modifieds were once again on hand in full force as 27 drivers signed in for competition. Danny Barker, Tim Karrick, Dalton Kirk and Terry Schultz claimed the heat-race wins. In the "B" Main, Zach Sanders, David Wood, Nathan Vaughn, Danny Scrogham, Dwight Niehoff and James Dean Eaton transferred to the "A" Main.

The feature was another barn-burner with Blackburn leading the entire distance as drivers jockeyed for positions behind him. Tricky track conditions led to several anxious moments throughout the night including Lewis Jackson’s full-speed ride off the turn three area, where his car came to a halt just shy of going into the watering hole, Jackson was uninjured in the incident.

Schultz pressured Blackburn for all 25 laps, pulling close on several occasions as he was trying to pick up his second win of the year after scoring a victory the night before at Lakeside Speedway but in the end settled for the runner-up finish behind Blackburn. Sanders made a rare CMS stop and finally turned his bad luck at the track around with an outstanding run to finish third after transferring from the "B" Main. Jim Moody began the night in search of his third straight victory but settled for a fourth-place run followed by Kirk who ran consistently throughout the night and came home in fifth—his best finish of the year.

CMS reminds drivers and fans need to be alert and take alternate routes to CMS beginning May 8 as bridge construction begins on Highway 13 just north of Warrensburg over the Blackwater River, Highway 13 will close just north of Warrensburg at the bridge. Alternate routes to CMS from the West include 50 Highway past Warrensburg to the Highway 13 north bypass or Interstate 70 from the Higginsville Exit then 12 miles south to the track. From the South on Highway 13 simply stay on the bypass around Warrensburg, the track is just north of the final roundabout. From the East, simply exit on the Highway 13 bypass north to the track. From the Hwy 50 bypass, the track is 5 miles north.

Weekly racing continues next Saturday evening at CMS with Pit Gates opening at 4:30, grandstands at 5, driver pill draw closes at 6:15, late drivers will not be awarded passing points. The pit meeting takes place at 6:30, hot laps at 7:00 and racing begins at 7:30. General admission adults $12, Military w/I.D. and Seniors 65 to 74 $10, kids ages six to twelve $5, five years and under are free, seniors 75 and older are also free. Seniors 80 and older may receive free pit admission courtesy of promoter Earl Walls, who recently celebrated his own 80th birthday! All pit passes $30.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pages/Central-Missouri-Speedway. Join our email group by emailing info@centralmissourispeedway.net. Find CMS on YouTube at CMS Going Green! Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to www.centralmissourispeedway.net. The Website includes standings, results, schedule, news, and much more!

CMS wishes to thank its 2017 primary sponsors for their support including Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, College Town Apartments of Warrensburg, and Heartland Waste.

The list of 2017 business partners includes: Batliner Recycling, Kleinschmidt’s Western Store, OK Wheel Alignment, OK Tire Stores, Blue Springs Truck Line Inc., Brooks Auto LLC, Rick Darling Racing Engines/Head Porting, KMMO Radio, Sabre Solar LLC, KDKD Radio, LJS Graphics, Wilderness Ridge Tent & Canvas, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Zaxby’s, Miller Lite, Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction, RockAuto.com, R & B Septic Services, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Wilderness Ridge Tent and Canvas, and Seeburg Mufflers. To join the CMS business partner team, call Susan Walls at (816) 229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, May 6, 2017


1. 17j Jake Richards, Lansing, Kan.
2. 68m Dean Wille, Warrensburg, Mo.
3. 12c Steve Clancy, Odessa, Mo.
4. 17 Mike Striegel, Hermitage, Mo.
5. 30 Rex Harris, Urbana, Mo.
6. 96 Cody Brill, Harrisonville, Mo.
7. 21b Bob Nakoneczny, Warrensburg, Mo.
8. 5f Dakota Foster, Edgerton, Kan.
9. 10r Russell Niehoff, Lockwood, Mo.
10. 17k Jeremy Lile. Higginsville, Mo.
11. 20 Michael Bixby, Harrisonville, Mo.
12. 98k Kenton Allen, Chanute, Kan.
13. 91 Dean Bachner, Olathe, Kan.
14. 92jk Jonathan Knotts, Independence, Mo.
15. 222 Colten Stevens, Basehor, Kan.
16. 11s Chris Stout, Oak Grove, Mo.
17. 00b Jim Moody, Odessa, Mo.
18. 53w Dallas White, Centerview, Mo.
19. 10x Doug Wetzel, Leeton, Mo.
20. 73 Cody Frazon, La Monte, Mo.
21. 15 Ryun Edde, Cross Timbers, Mo.
22. 19k Eddie Bray, Archie, Mo.
23. 94 Jacob Ebert, Oak Grove, Mo.
24. 99c Jack Cunningham, Wellington, Mo.


1. 26k Kevin Blackburn, Fulton, Mo.
2. 90 Terry Schultz. Sedalia, Mo.
3. 69 Zach Sanders, Kearney, Mo.
4. 00m Jim Moody, Odessa, Mo.
5. 70 Aaron Marrant, Richmond, Mo.
6. 75 Gunner Martin, Blue Springs, Mo.
7. 30 Dalton Kirk, Edgerton, Kan.
8. 96 Danny Barker, Kansas City, Mo.
9. 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
10. 38c Jason Pursley, Hermitage, Mo.
11. 68 Dean Wille, Warrensburg, Mo.
12. 85s Tyler Shaw, Mexico, Mo.
13. 03 John Allen, Chanute, Kan.
14. 24jr Jimmy Eaton, Bates City, Mo.
15. 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar, Mo.
16. 17k Kyle Westerhold, Blue Springs, Mo.
17. 00k Zack Gilmore, Kansas City, Mo.
18. 3j Lewis Jackson, Wellsville, Kan.
19. 12v Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia, Mo.
20. 16s Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
21. 82 David Wood, Richmond, Mo.
22. 227 Chase Domer, Nevada, Mo.
23. 9d Dwight Niehoff, Lockwood, Mo.
DNS - 10w Shad Badder, Oak Grove, Mo.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group