Town, Strong Lucas Oil Speedway Midseason feature winners
Print this page
June 24, 2017  |  by Lyndal Scranton

Lance Town celebrates his USRA Modified feature win at the Lucas Oil Speedway.

Lance Town (USRA Modifieds) and Shawn Strong (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) topped the Midseason Championship feature races Saturday at the Lucas Oil Speedway in a program presented by the Bolivar Herald-Free Press.

Midseason points leaders Strong and Jeff Cutshaw (USRA Modifieds) each received a $500 bonus, courtesy of Victory Lane "Track Action Review" and Lucas Oil Speedway.

Town, of Wellsville, Kan., from his pole-position starting spot, led all 20 laps to capture the caution-free USRA Modified feature.

Town's first feature win of the season at Lucas Oil Speedway was by a comfortable margin over runner-up Phil Dixon of Crosby, Texas, with Johnny Fennewald in third.

"Starting up front helps a lot," Town said. "My first race here was in '13 and I used to drag race. Watching this happen (back then) it seemed like 'this isn't very hard, but it's harder than it looks."

Lance Town won the USRA Modified feature.

Cutshaw's fourth-place finish was good enough to wrap up the midseason championship. The Bolivar driver is the three-time defending track champion in the division.

"It's not enough as far as I'm concerned," Cutshaw said of finishing fourth, adding that he's been a bit off since Show-Me 100 weekend in late May. "Right now, we're a fourth or fifth-place car. We're gonna work on it."

Shawn Strong's victory over runner-up Andy Bryant propelled Strong to the midseason title. Strong began the night four points behind Bryant, of Fort Scott, Kan. Strong prevailed by one point over Bryant.

"Lucas Oil Speedway, for the B-Mods, has the best competition in the country," Strong said. "Mike Striegel, Andy Bryant, Kris Jackson... all those guys, they're tough to beat. I had two wins, two seconds and a fourth and I won this thing by one point. Kudos to this place."

Bryant led the first eight laps before Strong took the lead coming out of turn two on lap nine. Strong, of Republic, Mo., withstood multiple restarts following cautions to prevail with Bryant finishing second, Jackson third and Striegel in fourth.

Strong paid tribute to Wanda Gilman, who along with husband Bill, are supporters of his over the last few years. Wanda Gilman is going through some health issues and Strong dedicated the win—and the midseason title—to her.

"Bill and Wanda Gilman moved up here from Texas several years ago for racing," Strong said. "Without their support, I could not be where I am today."

Shawn Strong won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Thursday Night Thunder next: The second half of the Weekly Racing Series season kicks off Thursday with a pre-holiday weekend Thursday Night Thunder program. It will be KY3 for Kids Night with a Bicycle Giveaway for youngsters and a huge fireworks program following the races.

Anyone interested in donating a new bicycle can drop it off at the speedway office during weekday business hours or contact assistant General Manager Danny Lorton via email at

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo.
Saturday, June 24, 2017


Feature: 1. Lance Town, Wellsville, Kan.; 2. Phil Dixon, Crosby, Texas; 3. Johnny Fennewald, Appleton City; 4. Jeff Cutshaw, Bolivar; 5. Austin Siebert, Kansas City; 6. Jason Pursley, Hermitage; 7. Eric Turner, Hermitage; 8. Lucas Gibbs, Udall, Kan.; 9. Kerry Davis, Parkville; 10. Jesse Willard, Prescott, Kan.; 11. Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan.; 12. Chase Domer, Nevada; 13. Donnie Fellers, Wheatland; 14. Tracy Wolf, Buffalo; 15. Daniel Wosoba, El Dorado Spirngs; DNS - Adam Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan.

Heat #1: 1. Austin Siebert; 2. Jeff Cutshaw; 3. Jason Pursley; 4. Tracy Wolf; 5. Kerry Davis; 6. Lucas Gibbs; 7. Adam Kates; 8. Eric Turner.

Heat #2: 1. Lance Town; 2. Phil Dixon; 3. Donnie Fellers; 4. Paden Phillips; 5. Johnny Fennewald; 6. Jesse Willard; 7. Chase Domer; 8. Daniel Wosoba.


Feature: 1. Shawn Strong, Republic; 2. Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.; 3. Kris Jackson, Lebanon; 4. Mike Striegel, Hermitage; 5. Kaeden Cornell, Willard; 6. Cody Brill, Harrisonville; 7. Robert Heydenreich, Bolivar; 8. Taylor Moore, Bois D' Arc; 9. Bobby Williams, Hermitage; 10. Lexy Vanzandt, Billings; 11. Randy Gilmore, Flemington; 12. Jeremy Price, Blue Springs; 13. Andy Chrisenberry, Chilhowee; 14. Ricky Watkins, Brookline; 15. Evan McQuitty, Chilhowee; 16. Cullen Thompson, Hermann; 17. Jared Klick, Auxvasse; 18. Kenny Shaw, Fort Scott, Kan.; 19. Casey Thomas, Camdenton; 20. Cody Admire, Eldon; 21. Robbe Ewing, Stockton; 22. Mark McGuire, Blue Springs.

Heat #1: 1. Mike Striegel; 2. Kris Jackson; 3. Taylor Moore; 4. Lexy VanZandt; 5. Jeremy Price; 6. Jared Klick; 7. Cody Admire; DNS - Mark McGuire.

Heat #2: 1. Shawn Strong; 2. Bobby Williams; 3. Robbe Ewing; 4. Randy Gilmore; 5. Kenny Shaw; 6. Casey Thomas; 7. Evan McQuitty.

Heat #3: 1. Andy Bryant; 2. Robert Heydenreich; 3. Cody Brill; 4. Kaeden Cornell; 5. Andy Chrisenberry; 6. Ricky Watkins; 7. Cullen Thompson.

Latest News from the USRA

June 20, 2018
Have some dirt track racing with off-road Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
Following an exciting Midseason Championships program last week, the second half of the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series begins Saturday night at Lucas Oil more
June 20, 2018
USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cars, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods return Friday at Lakeside Speedway
The Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series returns this Friday, June 22, for racing on the river’s edge at Lakeside Speedway featuring USRA Modifieds, Holley USRA Stock Cread more
June 20, 2018
I-35 Speedway Racin' for Rian this Saturday
This Saturday June 23, at the I-35 Speedway is an opportunity for the racing community to give back with the 7th Annual Racin' for Rian. We love our fun and our racinread more
June 20, 2018
Baker Trucking pads purse, picks up tab for Hamilton County Speedway racers this Saturday
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive returns to action this Saturday, June 23, with some free pit passes, additional take-home pay and other bonusesread more
June 18, 2018
Boone River Bayou postponed to June 26-27
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive have postponed this week’s Boone River Bayou Dirt Track Championships to next Tuesday and Weread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group