Wray collects eighth Holley USRA Stock Car win at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
July 1, 2017  |  by Rick Staley

Dean Wray of Jamesport, Mo., won his eighth Holley USRA Stock Car feature of the season Saturday, July 1, at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo.

Saturday night at the I-35 Speedway, the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods staged their make-up their feature from June 17 with a loaded field of competitors. Shadren Turner would lead them to the green and never waiver leading most of the feature laps and stand tall in McCarty Auto Group Winners Circle getting his first win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. Heat race winner Ed Noll would try Turner both high and low but be forced to settle for second on this night with fellow heat race winner Doug Keller a very close third. Eddie Schwope Jr. would race his way to fourth with other heat race winner Randy Ainsworth ending the night fifth place.

Shadren Turner won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod make-up feature.

Again, the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods saw some of the best racing of the night as Schwope would set the pace early in their regular main event. Schwope would use the low line on the track and hold off challenges by Turner, Keller and Noll as the race progressed. As the laps faded, Noll and Schwope would come to the line side by side with Schwope winning by a mere bumper at the flag stand. Schwope would celebrate in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle on this night forcing Noll to place second. Third would go to Keller who was in the hunt for the win all race with Turner fourth. Tim Eaton would have contact with another car and have to work his way back to the front and place fifth.

Eddie Schwope Jr. won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Holley USRA Stock Cars would again impress with great racing action from start to finish. Dean Wray and 2016 track champion Jason Estes would jump to the front and do battle as Brad Whitney and Jon Boller in the mix as well. All four drivers would duel for the front until Boller would get on two wheels in turn three and four and slip back in the pack. Wray would work the high line with Estes in the middle a Whitney on the low line throughout the entire feature. Wray would eventually pull ahead and on to claim the win. This would be win number eight for Wray on the 2017 racing season at I-35 Speedway. Estes would place second holding Whitney to finish third. Greg Keuhn would work his way through the pack placing fourth with Boller fifth.

Dean Wray won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

Then it was time for the USRA Modifieds to take the stage. In practice and heat races one driver would prove to have the car to beat as Darren Shaw would win both heat and feature on this night of competition. Shaw and other heat race winner and third place finisher Mike Densberger would battle side by side lap after lap with Shaw up top and Densberger low until Shaw would edge ahead and on to victory. Second place finisher Mark Dotson would spin early in the feature and have to race his way back to the front in impressive style. Fourth would go to Chad Clancy with fifth to the hard charger of the feature Ryan Schaffer. Schaffer would pick up the hard charger money donated by Josh Barnes Enterprises.

Darren Shaw won the USRA Modified feature.

I-35 Speedway would host Christmas in July and collect items to be donated to the homeless and those less fortunate and would what a great response from the fans. To the kids' delight, Santa Claus would make an appearance and take time for pictures and pass out candy and prizes to the kids. I-35 Speedway continues the “Dirt Trackin' at its Best” slogan and each week our great drivers prove this statement to be true. Thanks to Ed Noll Racing for the two bicycles given away during in intermission and St Joe Bait Shop for the four rod and reels they gave to the kids. See everyone next week at I-35 Speedway.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, July 1, 2017


Make-Up Feature (from June 17):
1. 17T Shadren Turner
2. 15 Ed Noll
3. 7 Doug Keller
4. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr.
5. 57 Randy Ainsworth
6. 3X Tony Manley
7. 9M Derrick Mahoney
8. 10H Garrett Hill
9. 47X Conner Masoner
10. 222 Dustin Crist
11. 27A Andrew Sheetz
12. 22W Bud Wilson
13. 33 Nicholas Carpenter
14. 72 Anthony Hill
15. 1 Kyle Henning
16. 69M Matt Marrant
17. 94 Jared Hillyard
18. 20Y Yancy Shepard

1. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr.
2. 15 Ed Noll
3. 7 Doug Keller
4. 17T Shadren Turner
5. 211 Tim Eaton
6. 57 Randy Ainsworth
7. 18K Danan Knott
8. 66X Chris Wright
9. 3X Tony Manley
10. 222 Dustin Crist
11. 4D Jeremiah Asher
12. 10H Garrett Hill
13. 9M Derrick Mahoney
14. 47X Conner Masoner
15. 48 Shawn Grady
16. 07 Daniel Harris
17. 27A Andrew Sheetz
18. 22W Bud Wilson


1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 997 Jason Estes
3. X9 Brad Whitney
4. 6K Greg Keuhn
5. 20X Jon Boller Jr.
6. S20 Gene Stigall
7. 17H Ramon Ortega
8. 55T Calvin Teel
9. G23 Greg Gilbert
10. 34X Mich Ross
11. 26L Anthony Whitham


1. 11 Darren Shaw
2. 85D Mark Dotson
3. 81 Mike Densberger
4. 21C Chad Clancy
5. R21 Ryan Schaffer
6. 78 Derrick Hicks
7. 67X Brandon Williams
8. 17X Nic Hanes
9. 54 Buz Kaster
10. 97 Houston Johnson
11. 17$ Shane Lawson
12. 98 Austin Johnson
13. 16 Bobby Penny
14. 99J Billie Hoover
15. 2H John Hanson
16. 26s Steven Glenn
17. 92 Tyler Grooms
18. 96J Anthony Logston
19. 22H Clay Hale
20. 31 David Coates
21. 13H Eric Hanna

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group