Jake Gallardo parks it for Jessica at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Print this page
July 15, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

Jake Gallardo's win with the USRA Modifieds at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Saturday couldn't have been more emotional. Stopping Bumper Jones and banking the $1,000 bounty wasn't the main plan for Gallardo. He wanted to park in victory lane for Jessica Miller.

Another great night of Holley USRA Stock Car racing took place as 15 drivers checked in. Mark Smith and Bryan Bagwell kicked off the 20-lap main, and Smith was smoother than a hot knife through butter as he led the opening five trips around the speedway with his brother, Nathan Smith, challenging him for the lead. While the brothers battled for the spotlight, Jason Josselyn went around the outside of corners one and two and passed both drivers. Josselyn led six laps until a caution flew on lap 12.

On the restart, Donovan Flores jumped to the lead on the bottom and went on to get the win. What looked like a third-place finish for Josselyn ended early as his right rear tire flew off of the car, causing him to flip in turn four while coming to the checkered flag. Josselyn is still searching for air to breath in the 2017 season, but all safety gear did it's job and allowed Josselyn to walk out of his race car safe and sound.

A full field of USRA Modifieds kicked off the show with a missing woman formation for Jessica Miller. The parade lap was touching with tons of pink fireworks shooting into the air and hundreds of pink and white balloons being released by fans as we celebrated her life tonight at the Southern New Mexico Speedway.

Butch Reid Jr. and Gallardo established the front row for the 26-lap feature, and Gallardo married to top line of the track and took off. Lapped traffic came quick on lap eight as Gallardo sliced though traffic quickly. Fito Gallardo then made it a Gallardo show as they battled for the lead on lap 16 while dancing through lapped traffic. Drivers could catch their breath on lap 17 as the only caution of the feature flew for debris in turns one and two.

On the restart, Bumper Jones worked his way to fifth. Jones, who didn't start his heat race after fuel pump problems, had to start dead last in the B-Main, and then 20th in the A-Main. He worked hard to get into the top five, and then battled hard on the bottom trying to get around his father and track owner, Royal Jones. The father-son battle lasted multiple rounds around the Southern New Mexico Speedway until Bumper Jones finally powered his way around his father.

Bumper Jones then looked for third but it was hard with Fito Gallardo and Zane DeVilbiss throwing slide jobs at each other left and right. Jones couldn't get around them as both DeVilbiss and Gallardo put on a stellar show for runner-up, allowing Jake Gallardo to run away for the win.

"I couldn't handle it on the last lap. I teared up hard coming to the checkers," said Jake Gallardo as it was an emotional one winning after the passing of Jessica Miller. "I know she loved this track for Modifieds and I'm glad I was able to get it done for her tonight. It will be hard not receiving that text message me and my dad always get after winning congratulating us from her."

With the win, Jake Gallardo ended the five-race win streak of Bumper Jones and collected the $1,000 bounty presented by S&S Fishing & Rental, Pine Top Construction and G3 Fitness.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
Southern New Mexico Speedway, Las Cruces, N.M.
Saturday, July 15, 2017

1. (11) 07 Donavon Flores, Las Cruces, N.M.
2. (8) 13 Victor Colorbio, Las Cruces, N.M.
3. (15) 44JT Jaime Torres, Las Cruces, N.M.
4. (7) 777 Pete Vargas, Las Cruces, N.M.
5. (5) 10B Bryan Bennett, Tularosa, N.M.
6. (6) 88 Nathan Smith, Anthony, N.M.
7. (13) 97 Wyatt Loveland, Alamagordo, N.M.
8. (3) 51 Kenny McCoy, Las Cruces, N.M.
9. (12) 52 Bobby Candusso, Las Cruces, N.M.
10. (1) 8 Mark Smith, Anthony, N.M.
11. (2) 32B Bryan Bagwell, Las Cruces, N.M.
12. (10) 02 Rick Skillin, Las Cruces, N.M.
13. (4) 74 Jason Josselyn, Alamogordo, N.M.
14. (14) 71 Jed Smith, Anthony, N.M.
15. (9) 46 Zach McCoy, Las Cruces, N.M.

1. (2) G3 Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
2. (6) 18Z Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.
3. (5) G17 Fito Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
4. (20) 111 Bumper Jones, Mesilla Park, N.M.
5. (17) 44 Christy Barnett, El Paso, Texas
6. (3) 131 Royal Jones, Las Cruces, N.M.
7. (1) 101 Butch Reid Jr., Carlsbad, N.M.
8. (7) 07 Donavon Flores, Las Cruces, N.M.
9. (11) 9 Jimmy Ray, Las Cruces, N.M.
10. (12) 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr., Las Cruces, N.M.
11. (8) 65 Dustin Smith, Las Cruces, N.M.
12. (16) 86 Jared Perez, Las Cruces, N.M.
13. (19) 28 Tom Georges, El Paso, Texas
14. (4) 32 Max Sader, Springerville, Ariz.
15. (10) 85 Austin Adams, El Paso, Texas
16. (24) 121 Tim Tharp, Las Cruces, N.M.
17. (15) 82 Sherman Barnett, El Paso, Texas
18. (18) 49 Duane Murphy, El Paso, Texas
19. (14) 3H Noah Hollingshead, Las Cruces, N.M.
20. (21) 0H Shane Helton, Artesia, N.M.
21. (25) 18JR Ricardo Olague Jr, El Paso, Texas
22. (23) 101.25 Dillon Hill, Euince, N.M.
23. (26) 39H Nick Herrera, Ruidoso, N.M.
24. (22) 2 Jesse Haynie, Las Cruces, N.M.
25. (9) 50 Ralph Adams Jr., El Paso, Texas
DNS - 50 Rick Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.
DNS - 37 Fred Gibson, El Paso, Texas
DNS - 19 Donavon Ooley, El Paso, Texas

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group