Martin, Wray, Schwope take Lake Road Warehouse Night wins at I-35 Speedway
Print this page
September 23, 2017  |  by Rick Staley

Gunner Martin won the USRA Modified feature.

On Lake Road Warehouse Night at the I-35 Speedway Saturday, the Out-Pace USRA B-Mods saw a loaded field of competitors take to the track with heat winner Bud Wilson taking the early lead. Wilson’s lead was short-lived as another heat winner, Eddie Schwope Jr., moved past and never looked back in claiming the win.

Wilson placed second with Nic Hanes back behind the wheel of his Out-Pace USRA B-Mod and racing his way to third. Fourth belonged to Shadren Turner as Jeff Elder impressed with a fifth-place run. The other heat winner was Dustin Crist.

Eddie Schwope Jr. won the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod feature.

Holley USRA Stock Cars saw a familiar face in victory lane as Dean Wray picked up his 17th win of 2017 at the I-35 Speedway. Wray didn't run a way and hide as Tim Shields challenged every step of the way but had to settle for second. Third place went to Mich Ross with heat winner Dan Jones fourth and Aaron Sauter fifth.

The USRA Modifieds featured a who’s-who of racing compete on the highest level as the feature got underway. Gunner Martin use his heat race win momentum to propel him out front on the start as another heat winner, Derrick Hicks, did battle. Hicks slipped in turn one, allowing Martin and the other heat winner, Dennis Elliott, to slip past.

Elliott challenged Martin until Chad Clancy entered the picture, passing Elliott to challenge Martin for the front. Martin would not be denied on this night, however, and picked up his first win of 2017 at the I-35 Speedway. Clancy ended the race with a solid second with Elliott third. Fourth went to a charging Ryan Schaffer with Austin Johnson rounding out the top five.

Dean Wray won the Holley USRA Stock Car feature.

The I-35 Speedway would like to congratulate Leah Parmley and Bentley Hicks on winning the bikes during Intermission. We would also like to thank Tammy Ash and Kayce Terhune as the “Battle of the Shacks” was a big success. Kayce raised $267 for Ronald McDonald House and Tammy raised $164 for St. Judes Children’s Hospital.

See everyone next Saturday night for more “Dirt Trackin' at its Best” at the I-35 Speedway.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series
I-35 Speedway, Winston, Mo.
Saturday, Sept. 23, 2017


1. 91 Eddie Schwope Jr.
2. 22W Bud Wilson
3. 17X Nic Hanes
4. 17T Shadren Turner
5. 97J Jeff Elder
6. 57 Randy Ainsworth
7. 222 Dustin Crist
8. 12C Steven Clancy
9. 81 Jacob Blair
10. 32P Jeremy Pittsenbarger
11. 66X Chris Wright
12. 16 Blake Pierce
13. 10 Johnny McGinnis
14. 15 Ed Noll
15. 50Z Trevor Dunn
16. 22B Mitch Booher
17. 5R Jason Reeves
18. 17C Cullen Thompson
19. 10H Garrett Hill


1. 77 Dean Wray
2. 1 Tim Shields
3. 34X Mich Ross
4. 25 Dan Jones
5. 83A Aaron Sauter
6. 19 Jay Barnes
7. S20 Gene Stigall


1. 75 Gunner Martin
2. 21C Chad Clancy
3. 29 Dennis Elliott
4. R21 Ryan Schaffer
5. 98 Austin Johnson
6. 78 Derrick Hicks
7. 42 Sam Florence
8. 175 Jason Park
9. 96X Daniel Barker
10. 99J Billie Hoover
11. 97 Houston Johnson
12. 2H John Hanson
13. 14C Billy Carter
14. 54 Buz Kaster
15. 17X Nic Hanes
16. 22H Clay Hale
17. 96J B.B. Tex

Latest News from the USRA

April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group