Scott shines in second round of Wild West Shootout
Print this page
January 7, 2018  |  by Lonnie Wheatley

Johnny Scott wired the field in USRA Modified action during the second round of 12th Annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Part action Sunday atop the 1/3-mile FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway as 141 cars filled the pit area in the second night of six rounds of competition over a span of nine nights.

The Las Cruces, N.M., racer was the class of the MVT/Border International-sponsored field, gunning into the lead at the outset and maintaining solid command throughout the 25-lapper.

“We started tenth in our heat and went to second to get some good passing points,” Scott explained. “That started us on the pole and we made the most of it.”

In Scott’s wake, Shane Sabraski outlasted Jason Krohn for runner-up honors with rim-riding Jake O’Neil and Matt Leer rounding out the top five.

The Wild West Shootout continues Wednesday, Jan. 10, with racing action set to go green at 7 p.m. with the final three rounds set for Friday through Sunday, Jan. 12-14.

Advanced tickets may be purchased online at and ticket pricing/purchasing information can be found at or by calling the Wild West Shootout office at 520-664-2074.

Wild West Shootout Hotel Information can be found at or by calling La Quinta Inn & Suites at 480-844-8747. The La Quinta Phoenix Mesa West is located at 902 W. Grove in Mesa, Ariz.

Saturday and Sunday races will go green at 5 p.m. with Wednesday and Friday events starting at 7 p.m. Arizona Speedway is located just minutes from Phoenix. From Phoenix, take US 60 east to Ironwood Dr., turn right (south) and go four miles, Arizona Speedway is on the right hand side. For more information, visit or call 520-664-2074.

The 2018 Wild West Shootout is made possible by Keyser Manufacturing, O’Reilly Auto Parts, FK Rod Ends, Black Diamond/Club 29 Race Cars, M&W Transport, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Border International Trucks, Arizona Differential,, Barnett Harley-Davidson, Hoker Trucking, Total Seal Piston Rings, Textron Off-Road, Shaw Trucking, M&S Concrete, AR Bodies, Earnhardt Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge Ram, Pro Power Engines, VP Racing Fuel and Penske Racing Shocks.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call (515) 832-6000. You can also like USRA Racing on Facebook, follow on Twitter and check out the USRA on YouTube. To keep up to speed with everything USRA, join our email list.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing Equipment USRA Weekly Racing Series
Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts - Round 2 of 6
FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway, San Tan Valley, Ariz.
Sunday, Jan. 7, 2018


The top 16 in heat race passing points advance to “A” Main with the balance transferring to two “B” Mains.

Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 0-Jake O’Neil, 2. 15k-Justin Kay, 3. 69-Lucas Schott, 4. 29d-Brad Dierks, 5. 6d-Dylan Goplen, 6. 96-R.C. Whitwell, 7. 4-Billy Vogel, 8. 18z-Zane Devilbiss, 9. X57-Richie Davis, 10. 2s-Stormy Scott.

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 99-Josh Angst, 2. 131-Royal Jones, 3. 7a-Shane Sabraski, 4. 160-Michael Maggard, 5. 21-Austin Bonner, 6. A1-Phil Dixon, 7. 6-Casey Skyberg, 8. 20rt-Ricky Thornton Jr., 9. 33-Steven Muilenberg, 10. 111-Bumper Jones.

Heat #3 (8 laps): 1. 7k-Jason Krohn, 2. 23x-Matt Gilbertson, 3. 30-Matt Leer, 4. 65x-Carlos Ahumada Jr., 5. G17-Fito Gallardo, 6. 19sb-Lance Mari, 7. 1tpo-Lance Peterson, 8. 2-Rusty Koleman, 9. F27-Lynnsee Provence, 10. 44-Christy Barnett.

Heat #4 (8 laps): 1. 71-Dustin Strand, 2. 10c-Chad Olsen, 3. 2J-Blake Jegtvig, 4. J17-Jake Gallardo, 5. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 6. 23-Adam Cates, 7. 19-Lucas Rodin, 8. 121-Tim Tharp, 9. L8-Brian Schultz, 10. 65s-Carlos Ahumada, Sr.

Heat #5 (8 laps): 1. 2a-Casey Arneson, 2. 1st-Johnny Scott, 3. 81x-Brian Ruhlman, 4. 75-Spencer Wilson, 5. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 6. 36-Ryan Cousins, 7. 71h-Jesse Hoskins, 8. 196-Joey Olschowka, 9. 7-Ken McCleskey, 10. 8a-Al Giesbrecht.

“B” Main #1 (12 laps, top 4 advance): 1. J17-Jake Gallardo, 2. 1tpo-Tyler Peterson, 3. 6-Casey Skyberg, 4. 65x-Carlos Ahumada Jr., 5. G17-Fito Gallardo, 6. 2s-Stormy Scott, 7. 33-Steve Muilenberg, 8. 19-Lucas Rodin, 9. X57-Richie Davis, 10. 4-Billy Vogel, 11. 71h-Jesse Hoskins, 12. 81x-Brian Ruhlman, 13. 21-Austin Bonner, 14. 7-Ken McCleskey, 15. 65s-Carlos Ahumada, Sr., 16. 96-R.C. Whitwell.

“B” Main #2 (12 laps, top 4 advance): 1. 2J-Blake Jegtvig, 2. 20rt-Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. 19sb-Lance Mari, 4. 6d-Dylan Goplen, 5. 23-Adam Cates, 6. 2-Rusty Koleman, 7. A1-Phil Dixon, 8. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 9. F27-Lynnsee Provence, 10. 18z-Zane Devilbiss, 11. 36-Ryan Cousins, 12. 121-Tim Tharp, 13. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 14. 44-Christy Barnett, 15. 196-Joey Olschowka.

“A” Main (25 laps): 1. 1st-Johnny Scott, 2. 7a-Shane Sabraski, 3. 7k-Jason Krohn, 4. 0-Jake O’Neil, 5. 30-Matt Leer, 6. 2J-Blake Jegtvig, 7. 2a-Casey Arneson, 8. 10c-Chad Olsen, 9. 71-Dustin Strand, 10. 29d-Brad Dierks, 11. 23x-Matt Gilbertson, 12. 15k-Justin Kay, 13. 19sb-Lance Mari, 14. 6d-Dylan Goplen, 15. 1tpo-Tyler Peterson, 16. J17-Jake Gallardo, 17. 99-Josh Angst, 18. 160-Michael Maggard, 19. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr., 20. 65x-Carlos Ahumada Jr., 21. 6-Casey Skyberg, 22. 75-Spencer Wilson, 23. 69-Lucas Schott, 24. 131-Royal Jones.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Argo Manufacturing, Chevrolet Performance, CP-Carrillo, Fast Shafts, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Pace Performance,,, Summit Racing Equipment, The Joie of Seating.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ASi Racewear, Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads,,

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: Aero Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Beyea Custom Headers, Day Motor Sports, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Fuel Safe, Genesis Racing Shocks, Holley Performance, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1 Precision Products, Real Racing Wheels, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.

USRA MEMBER TRACKS: Alien Motor Speedway, Arizona Speedway, Aztec Speedway, Caney Valley Speedway, Central Missouri Speedway, Chateau Raceway, Cresco Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Flint Creek Speedway, I-35 Speedway, Lake Ozark Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Legit Speedway Park, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Midway Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Missouri State Fair Speedway, Monett Speedway, Nobles County Speedway, North Central Arkansas Speedway, Rapid Speedway, RPM Speedway, Route 66 Motor Speedway, Sioux Speedway, Southern New Mexico Speedway, Southern Oklahoma Speedway, Springfield Raceway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Vado Speedway Park, Valley Speedway, West Texas Speedway.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group