Wetzstein wires USRA Modified field at Lansing
Print this page
July 13, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - After a couple weeks of the thermometer peaking in the ninetys temperatures cooled a bit but the racing was as hot as ever friday night at Chateau Raceway, powered by Husqvarna, in Lansing. A nice field of cars was on hand for the "L and D Ag of Hartland" sponsored race program.

The Noble Rv USRA Modifieds ran off a fast paced feature event with just one early caution. Steve Wetzstein of West Conocrd jumped from the outside of the front row on the drop of the green with Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie falling in line second out of row two. Behind those two Ben Rippentrop of Hayfield and Richie Gustin of Gillman Iowa put on quite a battle for second. Gustin made several good runs to get under Rippentrop but it took until lap fifteen before Richie could make the move stick to get the position. With the laps winding down the leaders were working heavy traffic with Wetzstein able to maintain the lead flag to flag for his second featue win of the year. Myer drew alongside Steves rear quarter panel as the checkers flew as they lapped two more cars on there way to the checkers. Gustin took one of the classes heat wins with Larry Nelson of Hartland picking up his first checkered flag of the season in the other heat event.

The tracks weekly kids promotion for this weekend was "Christmas in July" with each of the kids on hand receiving a nice gift package from Santa Claus who made a rare summer trek from the north pole to the track. There was also plenty of other giveaways including more of the many bicycles the track has given away this season with the help of there sponsors. Next Friday night will be "Sweet Treat Night" for the kids. Racing action as always will roll out at 7:30.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 13, 2007


Heat 1: 1. Larry Nelson, Hartland; 2. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 3. Todd Steinhart, Waseca; 4. Ben Rippentrop, Hayfield; 5. Mark Wytaske, Austin; 6. Wally Bustad, Austin; 7. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 8. Jacob Dahle, Morristown.

Heat 2: 1. Richie Gustin Jr., Gilman; 2. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 3. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 4. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 5. Josh Mattick, Lyle; 6. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 7. Bob Fisher, Lyle; 8. Dennis Hillson, Blooming Prairie.

Feature: 1. Wetzstein; 2. Myer; 3. Gustin; 4. Rippentrop; 5. Doug Hillson; 6. Dahle; 7. Steinhart; 8. Mattick; 9. Jensen; 10. M. Wytaske; 11. Fisher; 12. D. Wytaske; 13. Bustad; 14. Dennis Hillson; 15. Nelson; DNS - Karau.

Latest News from the USRA

June 18, 2018
Boone River Bayou postponed to June 26-27
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive have postponed this week’s Boone River Bayou Dirt Track Championships to next Tuesday and Weread more
June 17, 2018
Gulbrandson wins before rain cuts Mason City show short
With heat races for four classes and one feature race in the books, the rain that had threatened off and on all day finally made good on it’s threats and washed outread more
June 16, 2018
Saturday a night of many firsts at Southern New Mexico Speedway
We all remember our first time to the dirt track. Some were just children, tagging along with family and some were older, but whenever the first time happened, we rememberead more
June 16, 2018
Casey's Night finds Tillman, Gillmore in Springfield Raceway winners circle
The "Quick Quarter"of the Springfield Raceway presented Casey's General Stores Night on Saturday with current USRA Modified track points leader Jody Tillmanread more
June 16, 2018
Crapser captures first USRA Modified win at Deer Creek
This week the school bus races and mascot night were the featured attraction at Deer Creek Speedway. Seven schools were represented in the bus races and five school mascoread more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group