Wetzstein returns to Chateau Raceway winners circle
Print this page
August 10, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - It was a hot sticky night weather wise for week fourteen of racin action at Chateau Raceway powered by Husqvarna in Lansing Friday night. The racing action was a bit hot and sticky as well as things became a bit sloppy and rough as the night went along. A set of heat races that were slowed by very few cautions started off the night and they were followed by four rather cleanly run features before the final two events of the night dragged on for over two hours. After running two of the best features of the year a week earlier the Power 96 WISSOTA Midwest Modified and Noble RV USRA Modfieid Main Events were completely the opposite this week.

The Noble RV USRA Modified main event featured the same kind of destruction as just eight of the eighteen cars that started the feature made it to the end of the race. Four cautions in the first five laps set the tone for the whole race and eventually lead to the length of the race being shortened. Jacob Dahle of Morristown used a pole postion starting spot to his advantage to grabe the early lead.

A few spins brought out the first few cautions but after that things got interesting. Off a restart on lap five Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie was working to the inside of Tyler Clark of Rochester in a battle for seocnd when he went sideways through turn one. Officials put Noble to the back which Mark disagreed with and stopped to talk to officials about before taking his spot at the end of the line.

Jason Cummins of New Richland was putting on a nice show around all the cautions flags as he worked his way from a row four starting spot up to second with on lap nine. He found him self well behind Dahle but took just two laps to draw within a couple car lengths and a lap later the two were nose to tail. Cummins pulled to the inside of Dahle on lap fifteen and they went into turn one on lap sixteen side by side.

Some contact in turn one continued into turn two with Cummins ending up into one of the tires that marks the inside of the turns damaging his car and ending his nice run. That brought out the final caution of the race and that was also the point that officials decided to cut laps so it would be a five lap dash to decide it.

Steve Wetzstein of West Concord had been doing a nice job of avoiding all the action on the track and inherited second place when Cummins went out. Off the restart Steve put the pressure on. As the field came around to complete the next lap Dahle got his car loose in turn four and Wetzstein shot by for the lead and went on to score his third feature win of the season at Chateau.

Clark moved past Dahle for second with Greg Jenson of Albert Lea and Wally Bustad of Austin rounding out the top five. Dahle and Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie scored the classes two heat wins.

Racing action resumes next Friday night at 7:30. The kids friendly promotion for next Friday nights show is a very friendly one indeed with all the young kids getting in free for the night. This past week there were rides in the stock cars before the races for all the kid in attendance and a kids safe four-wheeler from "Four Wheelers for Kids from Albert Lea" was given away at intermission. Kids have been registering each week this season at the track for the chance to win it and Blake Adams, son of Chris Adams WISSOTA Midwest Modfied driver, had his name drawn and went home with the special gift.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, Aug. 10, 2007


Feature: 1. Steve Wetzstein, West Conocord; 2. Tyler Clark, Rochester; 3. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 4. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 5. Wally Bustad, Austin; 6. Bob Fisher, Lyle; 7. James Parker, Dodge Center; 8. Mark Wytaske, Austin; 9. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 10. Dennis Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 11. Larry Nelson, Hartland; 12. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie; 13. Josh Mattick, Lyle; 14. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 15. Shawn Peterson, Cottage Grove; 16. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 17. Joe Wernecke, Dodge Center; 18. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie.

Heat 1: Dahle, Wetzstein, Cummins, Peterson, Jenson, Nelson, Bustad, Parker, Wernecke.

Heat 2: Doug Hillson, Noble, Mattick, Clark, Dennis Hillson, Fisher, M. Wytaske, D. Wytaske, Karau.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group