Wetzstein wins, closes in on Chateau Raceway points title
Print this page
August 17, 2007  |  by Matthew Grage

LANSING, Minn. - Chateau Raceway powered by Husqvarna continued its 2007 season of AMSOIL Dirt Track Racing Series action with another nice field of cars. There were plenty of notable highlights throughout the action.

The final feature of the night was the Noble RV USRA Modified main event. Steve Wetzstein of West Concord took advantage of a front row starting spot and led flag to flag for his fourth feature win of the year.

Steve Arpin of Fort Frances, Ont., Canada, came home in second, out-dueling Jason Cummins of New Richland in a battle for that spot.

Doug Hillson of Blooming Prairie, who is trying to catch Wetzstein in the points battle, finished fourth. Hillson enters the final points night next week 43 points back. Hillson and Joe Wernecke of Dodge Center took home the classes heat wins.

The track held six mechanics races at the end of the night, one in each class. Next week the ladies get there turn with powder puff races on the schedule as part of the Season Championship races. It won't be the final night of racing at the track, however. The following Friday will be the 2nd Annual Cedar River Races with the O'Reilly USMTS drivers being a part of the show. Then, after taking the following week off, the track will host a Hornet Buzz Festival on Friday night, Sept. 14. The track's final action of the season will be the final weekend of September when they will host the 2nd Annual Fall Midwest Modified Fall Nationals - a two-night program scheduled for Sept. 28-29 (rain date Sept. 30). So plenty of good racing yet to come as the calendars turn to fall with racing each night scheduled for 7:30.

The track also continued its "kids friendly" year-long series of promotions on Friday night with all kids given free admission for the night's program. Next week's promotion for the kids will be more bicycle giveaways at intermssion. The track has given away lots of bicycles all year long.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, Aug. 17, 2007


Feature - 1. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 2. Steve Arpin, Fort Frances, Ont., Canada; 3. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 4. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 5. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 6. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 7. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 8. Wally Bustad, Austin; 9. Dennis Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 10. Dain Schultz, Owatonna; 11. Josh Mattick, Austin; 12. Larry Nelson, Hartland; 13. Mark Wytaske, Austin; 14. Joe Werneck, Dodge Center.

Heat 1 - Doug Hillson, Wetzstein, Bustad, Arpin, Jensen, Cummins, Dahle.

Heat 2 - Wernecke, Nelson, M. Wytaske, Schultz, D. Wytaske, Dennis Hillson, Mattick.

Latest News from the USRA

April 25, 2018
Hamilton County Speedway announces May 5 grand opening, kids night
Officials at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, have announced that opening night for the 2018 racing season will happen Saturday, May 5, with an open prread more
April 24, 2018
Seeburg Mufflers Night brings in week two of Lakeside Speedway season
Last week, a new season at Lakeside Speedway began with Lance Town (USRA Modifieds), Brett Heeter (Holley USRA Stock Cars) and Brad Smith (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods) forever eread more
April 24, 2018
Five features for $5 on KY3 Night this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway
With a weather forecast of sunshine and a high of 70 degrees, all systems are go for a big Saturday of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway as the Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing read more
April 24, 2018
I-35 Speedway to host Asphalt Racers Reunion
I-35 Speedway honors our history in and around the Kansas City racing community. Part of our local racing history involved a decade plus of asphalt racing at I-70 and Lakread more
April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group