Long cashes in on $1,000-to-win USRA Modified feature at Pepsi Scotland County Speedway
Print this page
August 18, 2007  |  by Brian Neal

Michael Long pocketed $1,000 with his win in the USRA Modified main event on Saturday, Aug. 18, at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway in Memphis, Mo.

MEMPHIS, Mo. Ottumwa Radio presented Fan Appreciation Night at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway Saturday, with the battle for USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series national and track points continuing. Taking home feature wins in there respective divisions were Michael Long (USRA Modifieds), Matt Greiner (USRA Stock Cars), Wyatt Lantz (USRA B-Mods), Jason McDaniel (USRA Hobby Stocks) and Jeff Soper (Outlaw Hobbys).

The 15-lap Outlaw Hobby feature was the first of the night, with Justin Hamelton and Rodger Dresden leading the field to the drop of the green flag. Hamelton took advantage of his front row starting spot to lead lap 1 and then held it until lap 4, when Tony Becerra jumped to his outside to grab the top spot. Becerra and Dresden would battle side-by-side for the top spot for the next 4 laps, when Brandon Symmonds took over the lead on lap 9. Symmonds then held the top spot until lap 12, when Jeff Soper slipped by for the lead. Soper would go on to hold off Symmonds over the final 3 laps to claim his third win of the season at Memphis. Jim Lynch was third, Hamelton held on for fourth, with Josh Soper rounding out the top five. Dresden and Jeff Soper took home the heat race wins.

Up next was the 15-lap USRA Hobby Stock feature, with Jim Tull and Jason Barnes drawing the front row for the event. Tull would jump out front on lap 1 and then held it until lap 6, when Mike Shelton slipped under him for the top spot. Shelton, Bill Gibson and Jason McDaniel would battle three wide for the lead until lap 12, when Gibson took over the lead. Gibson then held on until lap 13, when McDaniel jumped to his outside to take over the top spot. McDaniel would hold on for his second win in a row at the speedway. Gibson was second, Shelton was third, Louis Lynch came home fourth, with Steve Allen coming home in fifth. Heat race winners were McDaniel and Gibson.

Wyatt Lantz and Jason Riegel lead the field to the green flag in the 15-lap USRA B-Mod feature, with Lantz grabbing the lead on lap 1. Lantz would go on to lead all 15 laps to claim his seventh win of the season at the track. Jim Gillenwater came from eighth to finish in second, Jeff Waterman was third, Adam Birck was fourth, with Jared Fuller rounding out the top five. Gillenwater and Lantz took home the heat race wins.

Up next was the 15-lap USRA Stock Car feature, with Butch Bailey and Kyle Chinn on the front row, with Bailey taking advantage of his front row starting spot to lead lap 1. Bailey would get sideways coming out of four on the next lap, giving the top spot over to David Wietholder. Wietholder then held the lead until lap 4, when Matt Greiner, who started eighth, slipped by for the top spot. Greiner then went on to lead the final 8 laps to pick up his seventh win of the season at Memphis. Wietholder held on for second, Troy Alexander was third, Mark Holt was fourth, with Chinn holding on to finish in fifth. Heat race winners were Greiner and Alexander.

The 18-lap USRA Modified feature took to the track next, with Josh Truman and Mark VanWinkle drawing the front row for the event. On the drop of the green flag, third place starter, Michael Long jumped out front, with VanWinkle close behind in second. Long would go on to lead all 18 laps to take home his seventh win of the season at the speedway and the $1,000 top prize. VanWinkle held on for second, Martin Bennett came from the rear after stopping on the track to finish in third, Jeff Gerhardt was fourth, with David Wietholder coming home in fifth. Heat race winners were Ron VerBeek and Long.

Coming up next week at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway will be Cunningham Fertilizer Season Championships. The battle for USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series track points will come to an end, with the crowning of the 2007 track champions. In action will be the Modifieds, Stock Cars, B-Mods, Hobby Stocks, Outlaw Hobbys and Hornets. Also joining the card will be the USRA Late Models, battling for the first-ever USRA National Championship. Gates next week will open at 4:30 p.m., hot laps at 6:30 p.m and racing to follow.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
Pepsi Scotland County Speedway, Memphis, Mo.
Ottumwa Radio Night
Saturday, Aug. 18, 2007


Heat 1: 1. 4R-Ron Ver Beek, Oskaloosa, Iowa; 2. 40-Scott Dickey, Packwood, Iowa; 3. 29x-Matt Greiner, Washington, Iowa; 4. 82M-Ryan Meyer, Liberty, Ill.; 5. 47-Josh Truman, Indianola, Iowa; 6. 2R-Jerry Reese, Baring; 7. 97-Jerry Asher, Kirksville; 8. 5s-David Snyder, Greentop.

Heat 2: 1. 18-Michael Long, Quincy, Ill.; 2. 24v-Mark VanWinkle, Hannibal; 3. 21-Jeff Gerhardt, Niota, Ill.; 4. 99-Martin Bennett, Ankeny, Iowa; 5. z4-Jody Wood, Donnellson, Iowa; 6. 05-David Wietholder, Liberty, Ill.; 7. 46T-Toby VandeKamp, St. Charles.

Feature: 1. 18-Long; 2. 24v-VanWinkle; 3. 99-Bennett; 4. 21-Gerhardt; 5. 05-Wietholder; 6. 47-Truman; 7. 82M-Meyer; 8. 5s-Snyder; 9. 46T-VandeKamp; 10. 97-Asher; 11. 2R-Reese; 12. 4R-Ver Beek; 13. 40-Dickey; 14. 29x-Greiner; 15. z4-Wood.


Heat 1: 1. 29-Matt Greiner, Washington, Iowa; 2. 11-Mark Holt, Memphis; 3. 44-Kale Foster, Quincy, Ill.; 4. 111-Butch Bailey, Novelty; 5. 3M-Mike Snyder, Greentop; 6. 1c-Clell Evans, Kirksville.

Heat 2: 1. 7A-Troy Alexander, Memphis; 2. 05-David Wietholder, Liberty, Ill.; 3. 10-Doug Huls, Carthage, Ill.; 4. 81c-Kyle Chinn, Clarence; 5. 78x-Jim Walker, Mystic, Iowa; 6. 26-Greg Harsch, Bloomfield, Iowa.

Feature: 1. 29-Greiner; 2. 05-Wietholder; 3. 7A-Alexander; 4. 11-Holt; 5. 81c-Chinn; 6. 111-Bailey; 7. 10-Huls; 8. 78x-Walker; 9. 3M-Snyder; 10. 44-Foster; 11. 26-Harsch; 12. 1c-Evans.


Heat 1: 1. 10-Jim Gillenwater, Keokuk, Iowa; 2. 12-Adam Birck, Canton; 3. 77-Jared Fuller, Memphis; 4. 19-Jason Riegel, Memphis; 5. 86-Jerry Poor, Novelty; 6. 88-Brian Clark, Canton.

Heat 2: 1. 22-Wyatt Lantz, Bowen, Ill.; 2. 71-Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill.; 3. 46-Porter Collins, Clarence; 4. 96-Levi Smith, Donnellson, Iowa; 5. 99-Amos Zimmerman, Memphis.

Feature: 1. 22-Lantz; 2. 10-Gillenwater; 3. 71-Waterman; 4. 12-Birck; 5. 77-Fuller; 6. 19-Riegel; 7. 86-Poor; 8. 96-Smith; 9. 99-Zimmerman; 10. 46-Collins; 11. 88-Clark.


Heat 1: 1. 85-Jason McDaniel, Eldon, Iowa; 2. 47-Tim Pettibone, Moravia, Iowa; 3. 71-Louis Lynch, Greentop; 4. 8R-Clayton Robbins, Liberty; 5. 97-Jerry Flanders, Cortin, Iowa; 6. 8UP-Daniel Robbins, Greentop; 7. 07-Ernie Bunch, Kirksville.

Heat 2: 1. 38-Bill Gibson, Knoxville, Iowa; 2. 22T-Jim Tull, Redding, Iowa; 3. 16-Mike Shelton, Ottumwa, Iowa; 4. 10G-Dustin Griffiths, Ottuwma, Iowa; 5. 21x-Curtis Barnes, Greentop; 6. 3s-Steve Allen, Oskaloosa, Iowa; 7. 2k-Derek Kirkland, Centerville, Iowa.

Feature: 1. 85-McDaniel; 2. 38-Gibson; 3. 16-Shelton; 4. 71-Lynch; 5. 3s-Allen; 6. 47-Pettibone; 7. 10G-Griffiths; 8. 22T-Tull; 9. 8R-C. Robbins; 10. 97-Flanders; 11. 07-Bunch; 12. 8UP-D. Robbins; 13. 2k-Kirkland; 14. 21x-Barnes.


Heat 1: 1. 1-Rodger Dresden, Keokuk, Iowa; 2. 8-Brandon Symmonds, Keokuk, Iowa; 3. 4L-Jim Lynch, Donnellson, Iowa; 4. 8s-Josh Soper, Kahoka; 5. 97J-Jacob Smith, Argyle, Iowa; 6. 23-Larry Hooper, Wyaconda.

Heat 2: 1. 43s-Jeff Soper, Kahoka; 2. 2T-Beau Taylor, Canton; 3. 3x-Tony Becerra, Carthage, Ill.; 4. 24J-Justin Hamelton, Hamilton, Ill.; 5. 87-Jeff Hamlin, Edina.

Feature: 1. 43s-Jeff Soper; 2. 8-Symmonds; 3. 4L-Lynch; 4. 24J-Hamelton; 5. 8s-Josh Soper; 6. 97J-Smith; 7. 1-Dresden; 8. 3x-Becerra; 9. 2T-Taylor; 10. 87-Hamlin; 11. 23-Hooper.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group