Pittman, Schmitt, Lundry, Spilde, Henkes top H & S Motors Season Championships at Cresco; 2008 titles to Walch, Schmitt, Broszeit, Hare, Moudry
Print this page
August 22, 2008

CRESCO, Iowa - H & S Motors presented the Season Championships on Friday, Aug. 22 at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa with five winners emerging on the night, along with five drivers being crowned 2008 track champions.

Defending USRA Modified track champion Kevin Pittman of Waterloo came up short in his quest to repeat, but finished on a high note with a victory in the USRA Modified main event Friday. Justin O'Brien of Volga took the runner-up spot, followed by Tom Brink of Winona, Minn., Layne Meyer of West Union and Shawn Ryan of Waterloo.

Darrin Walch finished ninth in the feature race, but it was enough to secure the 2008 USRA Modified track championship. 2005 track champion Ron Konkel, Jason Schlangen, Pittman and Ryan York rounded out the top-5 in the final standings.

With his fifth consecutive track title already locked up and nothing to lose, Tom Schmitt of Independence put an exclamation point on another dominating season as he raced from 14th on the starting grid to win the USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Car main event. A trio of Decorah drivers—Kurt Krauskopf, Jake Ludeking and Kevin Donlan—took the next three spots while Matt "Iron Man" Greiner of Washington rounded out the top-5 finishers.

Donlan, Krauskopf, Greiner and Waucoma's Tory Reicks finished second through fifth, respectively, in the final USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Car points.

Maynard's Raymond Lundy scored the win in Friday's USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mod main event, with Brian Freilinger of Decorah taking the runner-up paycheck. Third through fifth went to Matt Jones of Waukon, young Tyler Droste of Waterloo and Ridgeway's Robb Anderson.

Jimmy Broszeit of Postville secured his track championship when he took the green flag in the main event. Freilinger wound up second in points, with Jones third, Brian Schrage of Cresco fourth and Postville's Koal Deering in fifth.

Scott Spilde of Ridgeway held off Brandon Hare of Elma in the USRA Hobby Stock feature race, with Kyle Anderson of Decorah finishing third, Bernie Adams of Stacyville taking fourth and Nick Schweback of Caledonia, Minn., rounding out the top-5 finishers.

It was just the opposite for Hare and Spilde in the final points standings as Hare captured the crown over Spilde. Anderson was also third in the final rankings, with Schweback fourth and Adams fifth.

Cody Henkes of Postville grabbed the checkers in the Outlaw Hobby finale, with Austin Curtin of Waukon finishing second, Ben Moudry of Protivin third, Dillon Anderson of Decorah fourth and Kyle Falck of Decorah garnering a fifth-place finish.

The battle for the Outlaw Hobby points title was the closest of all the divisions. Anderson held a two-point lead over Moudry coming into Friday night's H & S Motors Season Championships, but despite charging from 14th to fourth in the main event, Moudry's third-place finish was enough to earn the 2008 track championship by just two points (1,190 to 1,188) over Anderson. Curtin wound up third in the final standings, with Falck fourth and last year's USRA Hobby Stock track champ, Chris Hovden of Cresco, finishing fifth in points.

Friday's events brought the 2008 racing season to a close at the Cresco Speedway. RL Promotions and the Mighty Howard County Fairgrounds would like to thank the fans, drivers, crew members, sponsors and their staff for helping make 2008 a great season.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2009!

For more information, contact the RL Promotions offices at (515) 832-6000 or visit www.rlpromotions.com online. Race day info is available by calling the track hotline at (563) 547-3400. The Cresco Speedway is located 0.2 miles north of SR 9 on SW 7th (at the Howard County Fairgrounds).

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Casey's General Stores Weekly Racing Series
H & S Motors Season Championships
Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa
Friday, Aug. 22, 2008

Feature race results showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown.


1. (2) 18 Scott Spilde, Ridgeway
2. (6) 56h Brandon Hare, Elma
3. (4) 98 Kyle Anderson, Decorah
4. (1) 101 Bernie Adams, Stacyville
5. (3) 38s Nick Schweback, Caledonia, MN
6. (11) 1 Kory Adams, Stacyville
7. (7) 3 Kyle Frye, Decorah
8. (9) 17 Troy Lensing, Calmar
9. (8) 8 Justin Kupka, Decorah
10. (10) 62 Sergey Zhiganov, Rochester, MN
11. (5) 54 Jeremy Oakes, Spring Grove, MN


1. (1) 96 Raymond Lundy, Maynard
2. (3) 7 Brian Freilinger, Decorah
3. (11) 23 Matt Jones, Waukon
4. (9) 92 Tyler Droste, Waterloo
5. (10) 63 Robb Anderson, Ridgeway
6. (7) 3 Lucas Lundry, Maynard
7. (8) 88x Jimmy Broszeit, Postville
8. (4) 29rr Scott Bauer, Riceville
9. (5) 14 Brian Schrage, Cresco
10. (6) 1d Koal Deering, Postville
11. (2) 8x Jason Hovey, Decorah
12. (12) 82 Chris Fretheim, Decorah


1. (14) 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence
2. (5) 60 Kurt Krauskopf, Decorah
3. (4) 69 Jake Ludeking, Decorah
4. (3) 33d Kevin Donlan, Decorah
5. (6) 29 Matt Greiner, Washington
6. (12) 97 Lynn Panos, Protivin
7. (15) 20r Gary Rotenberger, Calmar
8. (7) 82 Jason Borsheim, Decorah
9. (2) 5 Mike Bergan, Ridgeway
10. (8) 27t Tory Reicks, Waucoma
11. (13) 11 Jake Lampert, Caledonia, MN
12. (11) 48 Casey Sebastian, Cresco
13. (10) 15m Mitch Hovden, Decorah
14. (1) 9 Patty Fosaaen, Waukon
15. (9) 27p Shawn Peter, Mabel, MN


1. (7) 26p Kevin Pittman, Waterloo
2. (1) 12j Justin O'Brien, Volga
3. (11) 77 Tom Brink, Winona
4. (5) 21 Layne Meyer, West Union
5. (3) 91 Shawn Ryan, Waterloo
6. (9) 70s Matt Sweeney, Waukon
7. (2) 970 Greg Jensen, Albert Lea, MN
8. (13) 25 Andy Bohnstengel, Winona, MN
9. (4) 5w Darrin Walch, Postville
10. (6) 27s Jason Schlangen, Cresco
11. (8) 96 Neil Eckhart, Rochester, MN
12. (10) 22p Dave Plum, Waterloo
13. (12) 35k Ron Konkel, Caledonia, MN


1. (3) 41 Cody Henkes, Postville
2. (6) 40 Austin Curtin, Waukon
3. (2) 85 Ben Moudry, Protivin
4. (14) 44 Dillon Anderson, Decorah
5. (5) 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah
6. (8) 29 Cody Cook, Decorah
7. (9) 37 Carl Colsch, Eitzen, MN
8. (12) 17b Matt Buddenberg, Decorah
9. (10) 78 Travis Turner, Postville
10. (13) 37c Casey Colsch, Eitzen
11. (11) 66 Darren Vick, Decorah
12. (4) 77t Tye Moellers, Ridgeway
13. (1) 70 Chris Hovden, Cresco
14. (7) 70s Steve Holthaus, Cresco

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group