Tillman halts Dalton's streak at Springfield
Print this page
June 6, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - The quick quarter-mile of the Springfield Raceway lived up to its reputation with fast and tight racing action all night long Saturday as a winning streak came to a end.

The USRA Modified feature was a nail-biter and provided a dramatic last-lap finish.

Jody Tillman grabbed the opening-lap lead but David Kirkland powered around on lap 2 to take command with Eric Clay and Erik Maggard following.

Looking for his first win, Kirkland pulled away to a straight-away advantage as Maggard and Clay were battling with a tight pack behind them including Tillman, points leader Jackie Dalton, who was going for four in a row, defending track champion Jamie Ragland, Brian Green and Steve Muilenburg all swapping spots.

On lap 9, the yellow waved for Todd Knight bunching the field up. Maggard made a strong move on Kirkland to take control on the restart.

On lap 19 of 20, the yellow waved for Clay as Kirkland ended up sideways in turn 4 with damage to his car and ending his strong run.

This set-up a one-lap shootout with Maggard leading.

On the double-file restart, Maggard went hammer down to hold on as Tillman went to the top side and Jackie Dalton went to the bottom.

Maggard stayed in the middle lane going into turn 3 as the top-3 were racing to the checkered.

Tillman made the top side work to take his first ever USRA Modified win with Dalton, Maggard, Ragland and Green completing the top-5 in an action-packed feature.

Action continues next Saturday night as the Springfield Raceway will host Shirners Night with points action in the USRA Modifieds, Late Models, SportMods, Bombers and Legends Cars. Saturday, June 20, will feature the ACSC Sooner Region 360 Sprint Cars.

For more information visit the website at www.springfieldraceway.com or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, June 6, 2009


Feature: 1. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 2. Jacke Dalton, Carthage; 3. Erik Maggard, Springfield; 4. Jamie Ragland, Lebanon; 5. Brian Green, Pierce City; 6. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 7. Jim Body, Diamond; 8. Eric Clay, Springfield; 9. Mitch Keeter, Joplin; 10. Sam Petty, Niangua; 11. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 12. David Kirkland, Branson; 13. Ryan Stacye, Springfield; 14. Todd Knight.

Latest News from the USRA

April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
April 20, 2018
Jackson grabs Lebanon Midway Speedway season opener
Current Out-Pace USRA B-Mod national points leader Kris Jackson jumped to the early lead over polesitter Aaron Scroggins and never looked back in grabbing the season openread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group