Walch and Jones win, Stocks and Hobbys wet at Cresco
Print this page
June 7, 2009

CRESCO, Iowa Round 2 of the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series was in action Sunday on the lightning-fast 4/10-mile clay oval of the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

Feature winners on the evening were Darrin Walch of Postville in the USRA Modifieds and Matt Jones in the USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mods. Rain fell on the speedway soon thereafter and forced the postponement of the USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Car and USRA Hobby Stock features until next Tuesday.

There will be no racing next Sunday at Cresco as track officials and race fans are getting ready for the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models presented by Subway on Tuesday, June 16.

Also on the racing card will be USRA Modifieds, USRA Karl Chevrolet Stock Cars, USRA Karl Chevrolet B-Mods and USRA Hobby Stocks racing for track and national points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series. The Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks will run their make-up features prior to heat races for the regular program.

Pit gates will open at the Mighty Howard County Fairgrounds at 4:00, with grandstand gates opening at 5:00. Hot laps begin at 6:30, followed by the first make-up feature with heat races beginning around 7:30.

The Cresco Speedway is a 4/10-mile semi-banked clay oval located 0.2 miles north of SR 9 on SW 7th (at the Howard County Fairgrounds). For more information, contact the RL Promotions offices at (515) 832-6000 or visit www.rlpromotions.com online. Race day info is available by calling the track hotline at (563) 547-3400.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Cresco Speedway, Cresco, Iowa
Sunday, June 7, 2009

Feature race results showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown.

Feature rained out, postponed to Tuesday, June 16.

1. (1) 23 Matt Jones, Waukon
2. (2) 85 Ben Moudry, Protivin
3. (11) 58 Shane Panos, Decorah
4. (3) 88x Jimmy Broszeit, Postville
5. (7) 58x Casey Panos, Decorah
6. (6) 20 Greg Mitchell, Decorah
7. (8) 82 Chris Fretheim, Decorah
8. (5) 14 Brian Schrage, Cresco
9. (4) 14m Brian Mahlstadt, Ionia
10. (10) 21x Chris Weigert, Cresco
11. (9) 95 Josh Gesell, Ridgeway

Feature rained out, postponed to Tuesday, June 16.

1. (1) 5w Darrin Walch, Postville
2. (3) 35k Ron Konkel, Caledonia, Minn.
3. (2) 35 Jeff Schluetter, New Hampton
4. (5) 00 J.D. Auringer, Evansdale
5. (8) 55 Larry Gene Hall, Rochester, Minn.
6. (7) 75 Garry Hall, Rochester, Minn.
7. (4) 3 Kelly Shryock, Fertile
8. (6) 27s Jason Schlangen, Cresco

Latest News from the USRA

March 22, 2018
Former Out-Pace USRA B-Mod National Champion Morton returns to Lucas Oil Speedway weekly series in 2018
Even though it didn't work out at planned, J.C. Morton is glad he ventured out and tried a new racing opportunity last season. "If I hadn't, I'd have read more
March 20, 2018
Opening night at I-35 Speedway set for March 24
Opening night. The smell of spent race fuel, the sounds of racing engines, the hustle and bustle of the crowd in the pits and the grandstands, the roar of the motors as tread more
March 17, 2018
Smith captures TOMS season opener
The 2018 Touring Outlaw Modified Series season opener kicked off at the Southern Oklahoma Speedway under heavy clouds and the threat of rain. With a field of 29 entrieread more
March 17, 2018
Morton masters final feature at King of America VIII Iron Man Challenge
Things just kept getting better and better for J.C. Morton this weekend at the Humboldt Speedway for the King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racinread more
March 16, 2018
I-35 Speedway season opener moved to March 24
Officials at the I-35 Speedway are moving the season opener to Saturday, March 24. Originally scheduled for March 17, Mother Nature has produced cold temperatures and read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group