Maggard snares USRA Modified main at Springfield
Print this page
June 13, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - On only his third night out with a new car, former Springfield Raceway track champion Erik Maggard grabbed the lead on lap 7 and never looked back in grabbing his first USRA Modified feature win of the season Saturday night at the quick quarter-mile, despite an incident in his qualifying heat race.

The USRA Modified feature rolled out with Arkansas driver Todd Knight grabbing the early lead with Darrell McWhirter following closely along with Bobby Pearish and Brian Green.

Pearish moved into the runner-up spot on lap 2 and was running down Knight as Maggard was starting his charge from the sixth starting spot.

Pearish's strong run ended in turn 3 on the sixth lap as he spun. On the restart, Knight stayed to the middle lane while Maggard moved to the high groove and made the pass in turn 4 to take control as Green, Mitch Keeter, last week's winner Jody Tillman, Steve Muilenburg and Jim Body were battling for position.

On lap 13, points leader Jackie Dalton spun to the infield area and lost a couple of laps, taking him out of contention while Maggard was sailing on the top groove.

Opening up a big lead over the pack, Maggard took his first season win as the pack for second finally found Green grabbing the runner-up spot followed by Keeter, Tillman and Muilenburg completing the top-5.

"The new car has been fast since we brought it out three weeks ago," said Maggard. "We had a second- and a third-place finish while leading some laps and lost in the closing laps.

"Tonight, even after the deal in the heat race, it was perfect come feature time."

For more information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, June 13, 2009


Feature: 1. Erik Maggard, Republic; 2. Brian Green, Pierce City; 3. Mitch Keeter, Joplin; 4. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 5. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 6. Bobby Pearish, Oronogo; 7. Todd Knight, Harrison, Ark.; 8. Rob Muilenburg, Sparta; 9. Larry Tindle, Springfield; 10. Darrell McWhirter, Bentonville, Ark.; 11. Sam Petty, Niangua; 12. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 13. Wayne Graybeal, Springfield; 14. Jim Body, Diamond; 15. Shane Rees, Diamond.

Heat #1: 1. Pearish; 2. Dalton; 3. S. Muilenburg; 4. McWhirter; 5. Rees; 6. Maggard; 7. Graybeal; 8. Tindle.

Heat #2: 1. Tillman; 2. Keeter; 3. Green; 4. Body; 5. Knight; 6. R. Muilenburg; 7. Petty.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group