USRA Modifieds headline Springfield’s Octoberfast
Print this page
October 7, 2009  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - With a gloomy forecast of rain on Thursday and Friday, Springfield Raceway owners Jerry Hoffman and Doug Bland have decided to make the Octoberfast a one-day event on Saturday, Oct. 10, with racing to start at 5 p.m.

Racing will include action in the USRA Modifieds, Bombers, SportMods, Legends Cars, Pro-4s and Pure Stocks.

Drivers will draw for qualifying heats and passing points will determine feature line-ups.

The USRA Modified feature will pay $1,000 to win while starting the feature will pay $250 with $80 guaranteed for al non-qualifiers.

A $65 entry fee applies.

This is the next-to-last weekend for drivers to earn national points in the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series, so officials are expecting some exciting surprises as drivers throughout the heartland battle for their final ranking in the USRA Modified national standings.

An added event will be the Fastest Sheriff's Race at intermission. Local sheriffs of Greene County, Christian County, Douglas County, Pope County, Taney County and Webster County will be doing battle on the quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway clay oval as they will find out who the fastest sheriff in the Ozarks is.

There will be a fundraiser for One Missing Link - a charity which helps find missing children in Missouri.

Hardee's of Springfield will be this season's sponsor for the Octoberfast.

Pit gates will open at 1 p.m. and grandstand gates will open at 3. Draw for heat race positions and to qualify through passing points will end at 4:15. The drivers meeting will be held at 4:30 and racing starts at 5 p.m. sharp.

Adult admission will be $15 with kids ages 6-12 just $5 and children 5 and under admitted free. Pit passes will be $30.

For complete payout and information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426.

USRA Modified National Points - as of Oct. 2, 2009:

1. 27 Greg Skaggs, Bixby, OK ... 4401
2. 90 Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, MN ... 4398
3. 71 Jason Cummins, New Richland, MN ... 4355
4. 19 Mike Sorensen, Rochester, MN ... 4294
5. 10 Mike Steensma, Luverne, MN ... 4287
6. 98 John Allen, Chanute, KS ... 4265
7. 24 Brad Waits, Zumbrota, MN ... 4252
8. 6 Justin Folk, Iola, KS ... 4248
9. X2 Brian Bolin, Fort Scott, KS ... 4178
10. 7jr Jesse Folk Jr., Iola, KS ... 4127
11. 99 Josh Angst, Winona, MN ... 4110
12. 21 Jackie Dalton, Carthage, MO ... 4057
13. 49 Bob Timm, Rolling Stone, MN ... 4043
14. 91 Joe Duvall, Chelsea, OK ... 4035
15. 20 Anthony Mann, Luverne, MN ... 4010
16. 45 Todd Scharkey, Kasson, MN ... 3996
17. 00 Ron Luitjens, Brewster, MN ... 3988
18. 39 Gary Langworthy Jr., Coffeyville, KS ... 3963
19. 27 Don Gerritsen Jr., Rock Rapids, IA ... 3927
20. 72 Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, MN ... 3907

Latest News from the USRA

April 22, 2018
VanderBeek, Josselyn, Gillmore snag Sunday checkers in Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
Drivers filled the pits with energy to finish the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on Sunday. Jason Josselyn of Tularosa pilotedread more
April 21, 2018
O'Neil, Sheen, Ray round two winners at Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout
The great race fans of the southwest joined the Southern New Mexico Speedway for round two of the Rancho Milagro Short Track Shootout and making it a vigorous night preseread more
April 21, 2018
Sanders, Donaldson, Noll winners on Walker Dozing Night at I-35 Speedway
The Holley USRA Stock Cars provided another side-by-side battle for the lead Saturday at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo. Jeff Dixon jumped out to the early lead, butread more
April 21, 2018
Ratterree tops Legit Speedway Park lid-lifter
Chris Ratterree of Nampa, Idaho, claimed the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod victory Saturday night as the Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo.,, kicked off the 2018 racing seasonread more
April 21, 2018
Heydenreich prevails as Lucas Oil Speedway opens 2018 season
Opening night at Lucas Oil Speedway saw Robert Heydenreich lesd all the way in capturing the featured Out-Pace USRA B-Mod main event Saturday night. A total of 133 carread more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group