Maggard class of field at Springfield
Print this page
April 17, 2010  |  by Ronnie Williams

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - The 2010 racing season kicked off Saturday night at the quick quarter-mile Springfield Raceway with side-by-side action all night long with over 70 race teams in the pits.

Erik Maggard picked up where he left off for the late 2009 season as he led all 20 laps of the USRA RHS Modified feature.

After earning the most passing points, Maggard started on the pole moved to the top groove on the start taking the spot away from outside front row starter Brian Green and never looked back as the race for second place was tight all night long between Green, Mitch Ketter, defending champion Jackie Dalton, Brandon Maggard, Steve Muilenburg and a fast moving Jody Tillman as these drivers went wheel to wheel.

The only caution on lap 15 turned to a red flag situation as Rocky Berliew took a ride off turn 3 as the transmission in his car exploded and came through the car. Berliew was removed and transported to the hospital to be checked out.

On the final restart, Maggard again pulled away in grabbing the first win of the season as Green overtook Keeter at the line for the runner-up spot, followed by Dalton and Brandon Maggard.

Action continues Saturday night, April 24, with points racing with the USRA RHS Modifieds, plus Sport Mods, Street Stocks, Legends Cars, MidWest Modz and Pure Stocks. Pit gates open at 3 p.m. with the drivers cut-off for pill draw at 5:30. Hot laps begin at 5:30 and racing starts at 6:15.

For more information visit the website at or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426 for more information.

To learn more about the USRA, visit or call 515-832-6000. You can also follow the USRA on Facebook, MySpace and Twitter.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Springfield Raceway. Springfield, Mo.
Saturday, April 17, 2010


Feature: 1. Erik Maggard, Springfield; 2. Brian Green, Pierce City; 3. Mitch Keeter, Webb City; 4. Jackie Dalton, Carthage; 5. Brandon Maggard, Springfield; 6. Steve Muilenburg, Sparta; 7. Jody Tillman, Branson West; 8. Jim Body, Diamond; 9. Justin Rexwinkle, Oklahoma; 10. Ron McClellan, Jasper; 11. Tammy Mitchell, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 12. Rocky Berliew; DNS - Bobby Pearish, Oronogo.

1st Heat: 1. E. Maggard 2. Green 3. Rexwinkle 4. Pearish 5. B. Maggard 6. Berliew.

2nd Heat: 1. Keeter 2. Dalton 3. Muilenburg 4. Body 5. Tillman 6. McClellan 7. Mitchell.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group