Anderson, Angst claim checkers at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
May 14, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

Ben Anderson topped the field of USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods on Friday, May 14, at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis. (Jason Durst Photo)

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - Sun, meet Friday. Friday, meet Sun. Shake hands and play nice!

The old adage “good things come to those who wait” holds true. After three weeks of waiting, those good things were drivers, cars, and fans back at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.

It took a couple tries to get the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature in full swing, and when they did, Andrew Kelly was quickly challenged by Tyler Groenendyk from Oskaloosa, Iowa. Kelly and Groenendyk raced side by side for the lead, but it was Kelly who finished lap one in front.

Brandon Hare ran hard in third ahead of Ben Anderson before Anderson, Hare, and Kelly raced three-wide down the front stretch for second place. Anderson ducked under Hare for second and moved on to pick off the leader. Anderson made his move on Groenendyk for the lead which left Groenendyk to fight off Hare and Kelly.

Lapped traffic came into play for Anderson, but he was able to slink through virtually unnoticed. A caution with two laps to go reset the field and gave Hare his chance to overtake Anderson for the win. Anderson was able to pull off the win and clean sweep in commanding style followed by Hare, Brian Schrage, Groenendyk and Ben Moudry.

Josh Angst is a man on a mission after notching his second feature win in the USRA RHS Modifieds in as many nights of racing at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway this season. (Jason Durst Photo)

The green flag turned into three-wide for the lead in the USRA RHS Modified feature. Lance Hofer made a lightning bolt move to the lead, but along with the lightning bolt came the storm as his machine poofed a big cloud and was immediately shut down resulting in the first caution. Ryan York assumed the lead in the complete restart with John Doelle outside front row.

Leroy Scharkey and Bob Timm charged for third and fourth spots while four-wide racing ensued mid-pack. A second caution flew when Doelle spun in turn four and collected Timm. York once again took the point on the restart when Josh Angst flew into second place over Chris Gilbertson and Timm. Angst had smoothly sailed through the pack and just as smoothly shot past York for the lead.

Timm eventually dropped from competition due to mechanical injuries suffered in the earlier mishap which allowed Hank Rollinger Jr. and Jay Ihrke moving room as the two zipped into the top five. As Angst tore away from the bunch, Ihrke took over second from York as Rollinger dealt with Gilbertson for fourth place. Angst was the mover as he went from an 11th place start to victory lane making him two for two this season. Ihrke’s season is off to a great start as he finished a stout second followed by York, Rollinger, and Gilbertson.

The next event will be Friday, May 21 with all regular classes including the American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series faturing USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods and USRA RHS Modifieds, plus Street Stocks, Super Stocks, 600 Mini Mods and Mini Mods. Racing begins at 6 p.m. for the Mini Mods and 7 p.m. for all other classes.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, May 14, 2010


Feature – Ben Anderson, Brandon Hare, Brian Schrage, Tyler Groenendyk, Ben Moudry, Erik Kanz, Eric Verthein, Chad Kosidowski, Parker Hale, Jack Baehman, Tyler Creeley, Andrew Kelly, Jake Timm, Barry Johnson, Jimmy Broszel, Ed Appel, Brian Mahlstedt, Greg Mitchell.

Heat 1 – Anderson, Appel, Kosidowski, Verthein, Timm, Creeley, Hare, Baehman, Mahlstedt.

Heat 2 – Kelly, Moudry, Groenendyk, Schrage, Mitchell, Johnson, Broszel, Hale, Kanz.


Feature – Josh Angst, Jay Ihrke, Ryan York, Hank Rollinger Jr., Chris Gilbertson, Colt Mather, Zack VanderBeek, LeRoy Scharkey, Lucas Schott, Bryan Hessler, Kevin Viebrock, Troy Langowski, Andy Bohnstengel, John Doelle, Phil Wernert, Randy Jonsgaard, Les Jonsgaard, Bob Timm, Les Duellman, Lance Hofer, Adam Stockhausen, Paul Hamernik, Ron Konkel.

Heat 1 – Angst, Ihrke, Timm, Mather, Stockhausen, Bohnstengel, R. Jonsgaard, VanderBeek.

Heat 2 – Hofer, Hessler, York, Rollinger, Duellman, Schott, Hamernik, L. Jonsgaard.

Heat 3 – Gilbertson, Doelle, Scharkey, Viebrock, Wernert, Langowski, Konkel.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group