Scharkey, Sorensen share Chateau Raceway honors
Print this page
July 2, 2010  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. - The sun shined gloriously over the Chateau Raceway for once this Friday, July 2. The large crowd in attendance got a “bang for their buck” and then some this Fourth of July holiday weekend. There were seven make-up features to be run that were rained out last Friday, and 104 cars filled the pit area for this week’s action.

Along with that, stuntman Rocky Hardcore was on hand and performed his death-defying stunts. The 29-event program sponsored by S&S Auto Salvage & Repair and I-35 Auto Recycling concluded shortly after 12:30 a.m.

Todd Scharkey dominated the USRA RHS Modified make-up feature from the start. Scharkey started second, took the lead from Josh Mattick on lap 1 and set sail. He led the entire way for his second win with Mattick second.

Greg Jensen had a great run in third, as did Dustin Steinbrink who was fourth. Thirteen year-old Lucas Schott rounded out the top-5.

Mike Sorensen stormed to the lead from the fourth slot and led the entire 25-lap regularly-scheduled USRA RHS Modified feature. Sorensen led the field through the caution-free race for his fourth win at the Chateau Raceway this year.

Tommy Myer started sixth and finished second with Bobby Swanson in third. Ben Mattick was fourth and Lucas Schott had another good run in fifth.

Next Friday, July 9, will be the annual “Fireworks Extravaganza” along with action in all seven classes of cars. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Go to for more information.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansing, Minn.
Friday, July 2, 2010


Make-up Feature (from June 25): 1. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 2. Josh Mattick, Austin; 3. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 4. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 5. Lucas Schott, Chatfield; 6. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 7. Bobby Swanson, Kasson; 8. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 9. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 10. Greg Mattick, Hayfield; 11. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 12. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview.

Heat #1: 1. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 2. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 3. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 4. Bobby Swanson, Kasson; 5. Greg Mattick, Hayfield; 6. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 7. Todd Scharkey, Kasson.

Heat #2: 1. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 2. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 3. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 4. Lucas Schott, Chatfield; 5. James Parker, Dodge Center; 6. Josh Mattick, Austin.

Heat #3: 1. Brian Shaw, Brownsdale; 2. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 3. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 4. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 5. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 6. Wallace Bustad, Austin.

Feature: 1. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 2. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie; 3. Bobby Swanson, Kasson; 4. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 5. Lucas Schott, Chatfield; 6. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 7. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 8. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 9. Josh Mattick, Austin; 10. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 11. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 12. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 13. Brian Shaw, Brownsdale; 14. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 15. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 16. James Parker, Dodge Center; 17. Greg Mattick, Hayfield; 18. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 19. Todd Scharkey, Kasson.

Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group