Scharkey notches third USRA RHS Modified win at Lansing
Print this page
July 9, 2010  |  by Todd Narveson

LANSING, Minn. - This week at the Chateau Raceway featured the annual “Fireworks Extravaganza” along with a full program of racing. Another great field of 96 cars filled the pit area and several drivers continued to add on to their win totals.

Dahle Enterprises of Morristown and Miner’s Outdoor & Rec of Blooming Prairie were the evening’s sponsors. Doug and Kristi Miner added a special extra twist and some more excitement to the USRA RHS Modified feature.

Ten adult tickets were drawn out during intermission. Those winners came down and drew out a bottle cap with a number on it. That number corresponded with a starting position and the fan was matched up with the driver that started in that spot. If their driver won, they would receive a $250 prize from Miner’s Outdoor & Rec. The winning driver would also pick up an extra $250 bonus as well.

The USRA RHS Modified feature had Todd Scharkey and Dustin Steinbrink on row 1. Scharkey took the lead while Steve Wetzstein moved to second. Mike Sorensen flew from the ninth spot and got to the top-5 on lap 3.

Sorensen continued his march to the front passing Steinbrink for fourth on lap three. Sorensen then passed A.J. Wiste for third and chased down the leaders. The top three were all over each other on laps 10 and 11 when Wetzstein tried to wrestle the low groove from Scharkey.

Wetzstein took the lead in turn two on lap 13, but Scharkey returned the favor in turn 4. Wally Bustad and Joe Horgdahl went around the next lap and the yellow flag flew. Wetzstein gave Scharkey a run on the restart, but was not able to make the pass. Sorensen spun on lap 15 and the caution came out.

Scharkey took off from there and picked up his third win at Lansing. Scharkey also scored an extra $250 in the Miner’s Outdoor & Rec promotion. Tom Cartin was the lucky fan that was paired up with Scharkey and also won $250.

Wetzstein finished second with Jason Cummins third. Josh Mattick had another good run in fourth while Joel Alberts finished fifth for his first top-5 at Lansing this year.

Chateau Raceway will host “Christmas in July” next Friday with hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing action to follow. For more information go to

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Chateau Raceway, Lansin, Minn.
Friday, July 9, 2010


Heat #1: 1. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 2. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 3. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 4. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 5. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 6. Craig Shaw, Dexter; 7. Greg Mattick, Hayfield.

Heat #2: 1. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 2. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 3. Josh Mattick, Austin; 4. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 5. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 6. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 7. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview.

Heat #3: 1. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 2. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 3. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 4. James Parker, Dodge Center; 5. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 6. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie.

Feature: 1. Todd Scharkey, Kasson; 2. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord; 3. Jason Cummins, New Richland; 4. Josh Mattick, Austin; 5. Joel Alberts, Mantorville; 6. Dustin Steinbrink, Austin; 7. Andrew Wiste, Adams; 8. Jacob Dahle, Morristown; 9. Darwyn Karau, Kasson; 10. Mike Sorensen, Rochester; 11. Greg Jensen, Albert Lea; 12. Ben Mattick, Hayfield; 13. Greg Mattick, Hayfield; 14. Joe Horgdal, Kasson; 15. Wallace Bustad, Austin; 16. Jeremy Misgen, Ellendale; 17. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie; 18. James Parker, Dodge Center; 19. Dave Wytaske Jr., Mapleview; 20. Craig Shaw, Dexter.

Latest News from the USRA

January 18, 2018
Deadline for USRA banquet tickets is Friday
The United States Racing Association will host its annual awards banquet for drivers competing in this year’s Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series on Saturday, Jan. 27,read more
January 16, 2018
Go-karts fuel Moore's winter need for speed as he gears up for 2018 Lucas Oil Speedway USRA B-Mod season
For one of the Ozarks' rising USRA B-Mod prospects, it's time to start dreaming of spring-time warmth and top-five finishes in the season ahead at Lucas Oil Speedread more
January 15, 2018
I-35 Speedway drivers meeting Jan. 20
In preparation for the start of the 2018 racing season, a driver’s meeting for I-35 Speedway competitors will be held at the Cameron Community Center located at 915read more
January 14, 2018
Strand snares finale win, Scott takes series title at Wild WEst Shootout
Dustin Strand emerged atop Sunday's 25-lap USRA Modified feature as the sixth winner in as many events by taking the finale as Las Cruces, N.M.'s Johnny Scott edgread more
January 14, 2018
I-35 Speedway remembers Bud Wilson
Families that race together stay together. We have all heard this saying, even seen it printed on T-shirts, including the Racin for Rian shirts at the I-35 Speedway. read more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group