Anderson, Timm storm victory lane at Mississippi Thunder Speedway
Print this page
July 9, 2010  |  by Tracy Hager

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. - Fans and drivers were presented with goodies from Kwik Trip as the showcase sponsor of the night Friday at Mississippi Thunder Speedway. Ben Anderson shot to another victory in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods. A strong field of USRA RHS Modifieds were on hand in what can only be described as a prelude to the rain date USMTS show coming up Tuesday, July 13, at the speedway. Twenty-three USRA Modifieds hit the track, and it was Bob Timm to make it back-to-back victories.

Ben Anderson shot to the lead in the 12-car field in the USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mod feature. Jack Baehman challenged Anderson, but Brandon Hare quickly took over second place as he was tailed by Troy Langowski. The top four cars broke away from the pack, and soon after, Langowski tore around Hare into second place.

Anderson, Langowski, Hare and Baehman cruised ahead as Jake Timm and Erik Kanz raced side by side for fifth place when the first of six cautions slowed the field. Anderson again was hotly pursued by Langowski on the restart as the two then raced side by side for the lead. Anderson pulled away, but Langowski continued to stay tethered to him. Hare worked the berm in third place as Timm moved to fourth.

A caution nearly every two laps really broke up the racing action, but Anderson was able to retain his momentum to head to the checkers first. Langowski, Hare, Kanz, and Parker Hale sealed the top five.

Hot shoe Josh Angst was quickly pursued by Bob Timm in the USRA RHS Modified feature. Heat two winner Adam Stockhausen showed a strong presence as he ran third. Lance Hofer, Ron Konkel and Andy Bohnstengel ran for fourth, but an early caution reset the field. Angst again took the lead, but Timm moved around Angst on the high side to take over the #1 spot.

Angst and Konkel ran side by side for second when Kelly Shryock took over fourth from Stockhausen. Timm took off and left the rest to deal with second place on back. Angst, Konkel, and Shryock led the pack when Les Duellman jumped ahead of Stockhausen into fifth place. Another caution reeled Timm back in to contend with the rest of the pack. Timm maintained his lead however as Angst and Shryock followed. Timm again checked out only to be once again reeled back by a caution.

Angst made a grand attempt at Timm’s lead, but Timm was able to pull away. Angst gained again and pulled himself up to Timm as the two were nearly side by side out of turn four and then again down the back stretch. A caution with five laps to go set up a great shoot out to the finish. Angst greatly contested Timm as the two were side by side for first while Jay Ihrke and Shryock were side by side for third.

Timm had what he needed to pull out of turn 4 and hit the finish line by about two car-lengths ahead of Angst for the win. Shryock, Ihrke and Stockhausen finished out the top-5.

Friday, July 16, will be a regular night of racing which will include the USRA RHS Modifieds and USRA Karl Performance Parts B-Mods, plus Street Stocks, Super Stocks, 600 Mini Mods and A/B Mini Mods, as well as the return of the Late Models. Mini Mod racing begins at 6 p.m. with regular racing action at 7 p.m.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

American Racer USRA Weekly Racing Series
Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Fountain City, Wis.
Friday, July 9, 2010


Feature: 1. Ben Anderson, 2. Troy Langowski, 3. Brandon Hare, 4. Erik Kanz, 5. Parker Hale, 6. Barry Johnson, 7. Jack Baehman, 8. Tyler Creeley, 9. Ed Appel, 10. Jake Timm, 11. Chad Kosidowski, 12. Jacob Bleess.

Heat #1: 1. Anderson, 2. Kanz, 3. Hare, 4. Baehman, 5. Hale, 6. Johnson.

Heat #2: 1. Timm, 2. Langowski, 3. Bleess, 4. Kosidowski, 5. Creeley, 6. Appel.


Feature:1. Bob Timm, 2. Josh Angst, 3. Kelly Shryock, 4. Jay Ihrke, 5. Adam Stockhausen, 6. John Doelle, 7. Chris Gilbertson, 8. Hank Rollinger Jr., 9. Lance Hofer, 10. Andy Bohnstengel, 11. LeRoy Scharkey, 12. Steve Speltz, 13. Brian Albrecht, 14. Curt Myers, 15. Shaun Wehlage, 16. Bryan Hessler, 17. Randy Jonsgaard, 18. Tony Vaith, 19. Les Duellman, 20. Ron Konkel, 21. Phil Wernert, 22. Ryan York, 23. Les Jonsgaard.

Heat #1: 1. Angst, 2. Konkel, 3. Hofer, 4. Duellman, 5. Ihrke, 6. Rollinger, 7. Myers, 8. L. Jonsgaard.

Heat #2: 1. Stockhausen, 2. Shryock, 3. Bohnstengel, 4. York, 5. Gilbertson, 6. Albrecht, 7. Wernert, 8. R. Jonsgaard.

Heat #3: 1. Scharkey, 2. Timm, 3. Speltz, 4. Doelle, 5. Hessler, 6. Wehlage, 7. Vaith.

Latest News from the USRA

May 19, 2018
Auringer, Jackson, Caudle, Stanton, Coopman claim Hamilton County Speedway checkers
The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive finally outlasted Mother Nature to complete the second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series event of the season Satread more
May 19, 2018
Dycus dominates Devil's Bowl
With 30 USRA Modifieds rolling into the famed half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway, the Touring Outlaw Modified Series were led by their two-time series champion Tristonread more
May 19, 2018
Sorensen sweeps NAPA North Star Nationals
The USRA Modifieds were on the card Saturday as part of the NAPA North Star Nationals at Deer Creek Speedway. A huge crowd was on hand to watch the USRA Modifieds and theread more
May 19, 2018
Dotson, Elliott, Nunnikhoven, Galvan outduel everybody on Earley Tractor Night at I-35 Speedway
The USRA Modifieds took to the track first Saturday on Earley Tractor Night at the I-35 Speedway to make up their feature from May 5. Dennis Elliott took the lead on the read more
May 19, 2018
Gallardo strikes back at Southern New Mexico Speedway
Military and public safety personal packed the stands for Military & Public Safety Night on a beautiful May 19 edition of the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series at the Southern New Mexico more
Contact Us

© Copyright 2018 United States Racing Association, Inc.Privacy PolicyNitroquest Media Group